We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first time there”
Review of 101 Downtown - CLOSED

101 Downtown
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our menu changes frequently to ensure we use the freshest ingredients and you get to experience a wide range of delicious food!Please visit our website to view our up-to-date menu items.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our first time there”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Celebrating our anniversary I enjoyed a melt in your mouth filet mignon, my husband also had an excellent steak. The Ceasar salad was crisp with a delicious dressing. My husband's lobster bisque soup was tasty but not to heavy. The warm bread with olive oil balsamic mix dip was really good. All in all a great restaurant experience and we will return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank photongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    24
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FL, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“I'll say 101 Downtown is Uptown in my book!”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great place to just come in and have a few cocktails with friends to get the night started, or you can stay and have a delicious dinner and better yet, come late enough and you can dance the night away! The food is very sophisticated, contemporary American! Some surprises on the menu in way of preparation and presentation really wake you up from the same 'ol same 'ol many other "classy" restaurants such as the one next door serve!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAhun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Upgraded Experience Without the Upgraded Price!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

For my friend's birthday, she planned a dinner at 101 downtown. a group of 12 of us were picked up by a limo provided by 101 and taken there. I have never eaten there prior, and I was surprised to see 101 downtown in this chic restaurant light. The ambiance reminded me of some restaurants at las olas, ft lauderdale. I ordered the Bison Burger with a house salad, and it is hands down one of the better burgers I have eaten in Gainesville. I was also super impressed with the fact that they had complimentary bread on the table (I feel like no one does that anymore!)

overall, the meal was great and my friend loved her birthday. (she especially loved her complimentary margarita haha)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RomMizrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
“Bringing manhatan to gville”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

101 Downtown transports you from Gainesville to New York City. The atmosphere and vibe throughout the restaurant is incomparable to any other restaurant in Gainesville. The price of the food might be a little more than the average college meal, but well worth it. It's a fancier place, great for a birthday celebration or just treating yourself to a night out. Once the clock strikes 10 pm, 101 Downtown transforms into a nightclub, so get there early!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice spot!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

nice spot for restaurants, bars,coffee and deserts etc

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank rikky_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 101 Downtown also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing