We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much more than I expected!!”

Florida Museum of Natural History
Ranked #2 of 63 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Native American and natural history exhibits in this museum at the University of Florida.
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
225 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“So much more than I expected!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We came here while in town for a wedding and holiday party so this was a fantastic day activity. The museum was so well done and so much more than we expected, we enjoyed the exhibits and the activities, and for the free entrance fee, this was a real Treat!! Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Hillary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    131
    21
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit on campus”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

First off, the Museum portion is FREE! Took my nephew for a day, he's nine and he was fascinated by all of the skeletons and native FL exhibits. Of course it's not the Smithsonian, but they have their own Mastodon skeleton! Special Exhibits and Butterfly Rainforest are extra $$$.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gopalsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great fun”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

This museum is like being at the mall in Washington, DC. It's a mini "museum of natural history" and it's free! There was dinosaur bones, shark teeth, history of indigenous people. It was a real fun way to spend a morning. Highly recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aransas Pass, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Butterfly heaven!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a beautiful and peaceful experience! The butterflies are plentiful and varied. The foliage is equally beautiful. I would highly recommend this experience for all ages.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, GA, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for a day trip with kids”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I were visiting friends in Ocala and decided to do this as a day trip. Wonderful!! I originally wasn’t looking forward to going but I am glad I did. This was truly a fascinating visit. The exhibits were very interesting and the Butterfly Garden (extra fee) was spectacular. This would be a great place to take little boys who are interested in bones and stuff. Great trip for a young family, especially since the museum itself is free.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Florida Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing