We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Florida Museum of Natural History

Florida Museum of Natural History
Ranked #2 of 61 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Native American and natural history exhibits in this museum at the University of Florida.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

Very nice place to visit. There are many exibitions since the beginning to final. The most excitant exibith is the dinossaurs fossils...

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank cgmota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    125
    20
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have made regular drives from Tallahassee to Gainesville just to see exhibits at this museum. The Megladon and Cattle Ranching exhibits were really wonderful. It is a real shame that we don't have a comparable facility here in the state Capitol.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank lyonsdigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The State of Florida's official natural history museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

This is a great visit and can be expressed by my favorite 4 letter word "FREE"

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank bridgetthedog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b
1 review
“ASSSSSSOM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

It is a great place to go for your children. Plus my kids got to see a real live shark!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Bryton b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Over shadowed by by butterflies”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The museum is average. The quality is good, but nothing special compared to every other natural history museum I have been too. The only thing that separates this one from the rest is it gives you alot of information specific to Florida. I would suggest you skip it if were not attached to the butterfly exhibit which is exceptional.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fargeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Florida Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Florida Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing