We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and unique”

Kanapaha Botanical Gardens
Ranked #7 of 62 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Herb and botanical garden displaying unusual plants from around the world.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
234 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Large and unique”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

These gardens are not as well maintained as others in Florida but it is still worth a trip. The visitor center is in the middle of 2 distinct pathways. One direction is exposed to more sun while the path in the opposite direction is more shaded. They have a large herb garden, a children's garden, gazebo, and a view of the lake. There are lots of bamboo. Each garden that we have visited seems to have its uniqueness and this garden does not disappoint.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    90
    27
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice stroll in the Florida sun”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Not much was in fresh bloom when we went. But it was still a nice walk, low impact. The price was reasonable, though the gift shop just so-so. Trail signs and plant/flower markers could use some maintenance work.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank scrltpimpernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must have visited during a transition time.”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

A nice walk but things were not well maintained - especially the children's garden. I do think in season it would be nice. Mostly empty beds when we visited. They are doing good things here though. Kids enjoyed feeding the Koi you can buy food at the ticket office.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ready2Goanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poinciana, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A remarkable botanical garden.”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Kanapaha Botanical Garden is one if the best in Florida, for variety of plants and educational value. I just took a 2+ hour tour with Master Gardener docent. It was excellent. Not as meticulous as some or as well groomed, but wandering around Kanapaha is a pleasure.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank orchidart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wish my garden was like this!!!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Spent a delightful few hours following the pathways around this lovely garden. Well signposted, informative labels on the plants and plenty of shady area to sit and contemplate. We took in some lunch - a good move as there was no food concessions. The water gardens were a particular delight, attracting some spectacular birds. We did say that we would go back next time we are in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlynclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanapaha Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Kanapaha Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing