We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy ol' Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cozy ol' Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Staying here was a completely different and worth while experience. We have been on tours of historic homes before, but had never stayed in one. The first night we stayed in Isadora. While it looked clean and was comfortable, it had a rather funky old home smell involved. However, the room was very unique with vaulted ceilings and a gorgeous sitting room complete with a window bench. The next night, we were scheduled to stay in Luisa, but she was leaking water from a pipe somewhere. Elyse was very helpful in relocating us to the Tea Rose room, and she made sure we were completely satisfied with the switch. You MUST understand that this home is probably over 100 years old and it WILL have its old home issues.

Our favorite parts of the stay were the complementary wine and cheese hour and breakfast! They served that most delicious french toast casserole and frittatas each morning. Property was walking distance to downtown. Linens were soft and cozy. Also, water and coffee are provided in both of the houses for whenever you want it. When we come back to visit Gainesville, we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MermaidGirlFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are so sorry about the issues during your stay, but you are right that sometimes these things cannot be helped in historic homes. Thank you for being so understanding! Even though it did not go as planned, we are glad you remained positive about your experience with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    51
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
76
122
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I've been staying at the Sweetwater Branch Inn now for over 20 years and it only gets better and better. Cornelia has recently added a pool to the complex of Victorian houses and quaint cottages that make up the inn. She's also hired a chef who made absolutely fabulous cinnamon apple French toast for our breakfast.

No other place in Gainesville hits the spot like Sweetwater.

Room Tip: There are no 'bad' rooms only different versions of really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flabuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for these kind words! We are so excited about the new pool, the renovations that were recently completed, and the addition of a seasoned chef to our innkeeping staff. We try so hard to provide our guests with the best of everything, and it is great to see it is being noticed. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Sweetwater again after a 2 year hiatus. Previously, we had stayed in the Luisa en route to Savannah, where we got married. We decided to return for our 2nd anniversary. This time, we stayed in the Isadora and Tiffany rooms (one night in each).

The rooms were very clean and the beds are super comfortable (if you like high thread counts, this is the place for you).

I enjoy the cats outside. Butterscotch is the friendliest, but if you don't dig cats, don't worry -- they are not invasive at all.

Breakfast included: yogurt parfaits, frittata, French toast casserole, and organic drip coffee. Breakfast meats were served on the side, which is a real asset for those that do not eat pork.

All rooms have access to K-cup coffee makers 24/7 as well as fresh Culligan water.

I wholly recommend this inn and we will be back. Just minutes from downtown, but with none of the noise. Definitely walkable to hotspots such as Dragonfly, Maude's, Amelia's and The Hipp.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid the Isadora. The bed is very comfortable, but rather squeaky. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DetectiveMongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are so happy to hear you will be back! And thanks for the tip about the bed in Isadora - we will remedy that immediately. Also, thank you for pointing out that our kitties like their alone time as much as our guests do :) We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Located on a beautiful property near downtown, the place offers great accommodations and peace. Because of the location, it is not difficult to find good restaurants around without even have to use any transportation.
The only problem that we had was with termites. During the night, we were able see some of them flying. On the following morning, it was possible to spot some wings on the floor...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank repinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Sweetwater definitely has an awesome location - so close to exciting Downtown Gainesville. We're sorry to hear you experienced indoor pest issues - we have a very close relationship with Florida Pest Control and have extensive treatments done nearly weekly. If you would, please private message us back to let us know which room you were staying in so that we can treat it accordingly. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Slept there a few nights in the Carriage house, had asked for a separate bedroom for our son but the bed was in the living, kitchen area and was an inflatable...... so we adapted...... but disappointed. The unit was clean and comfortable, with nice bath tub , but old style shower with tent. Breakfast good, but witha limited time window, so we only could enjoy it once, during our stay, but made coffee in our kitchen. Overall a nice place...but....

Room Tip: Most beds are queen size, Carriage House is nice if you plan to prepare some food on your own, as ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemeni58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize that it was not communicated effectively that the Carriage house is a one bedroom apartment with a queen-sized pullout bed in the living room. We do try to accommodate guest who are unable to attend the breakfast between 7:30a.m. and 9a.m. during the week by offering To-Go Breakfasts to guests who inquire. We hope you come back and give us another chance to impress you!


As a side note, so future guests are aware, we offer a 360 Tour of all of our rooms on our website, so that you can be sure the room you choose is to your liking before you arrive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa,FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've been to Gainesville many times - we are Florida Gators! - and it took a wedding to get us to this beautiful Inn. It was a great place to stay! The wedding and cocktail party were outdoors on their beautiful grounds.

After the wedding, we relaxed with coffee and tea in the parlor and visited with our friends. It was so nice to have a nice comfy place to just socialize.

Breakfast the next morning was very good. Lots of yummy choices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Cathy, thank you for taking the time to give future guests your perspective. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable spaces we offer, and that you were able to experience a wedding on our premises! Keep us in mind when you are booking rooms during football season - we offer competitive rates and still include the gourmet breakfast and wine and cheese hour!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Came down from New York for a wedding and stayed here for two nights. Everything about this place exceed my expectations, including all the staff. Came down from New York for a wedding and stayed here for two nights. Everything about this place exceed my expectations, including all the staff. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is great, the neighborhood is great, and it’s an easy walk to the downtown restaurants. And for history buffs, there’s a historic mansion and multi-acre park next door.

Room Tip: You can view all the unique rooms online and book the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review, Bill! We absolutely love being close to the Matheson Museum and the downtown area. It gives our guests a chance to experience a lot of the things Gainesville has to offer, all in a very close proximity to the inn. We hope next time you need to get away from New York you consider coming down to Florida to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
3.5 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Property: Sweetwater Branch Inn
Address: 625 E University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing