We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Nearby Hotels
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$90
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$153
$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$109
$93
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveler rating
288
54
19
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
54
19
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesethe cottageshoneymoon cottagesweet teahomemade granolakoi pondvictoria cottagebed and breakfastvictorian stylefront porchreception hallrose roomfully equipped kitchensouthern charmeach morningking size bedthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 371 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Slept there a few nights in the Carriage house, had asked for a separate bedroom for our son but the bed was in the living, kitchen area and was an inflatable...... so we adapted...... but disappointed. The unit was clean and comfortable, with nice bath tub , but old style shower with tent. Breakfast good, but witha limited time window, so we only could enjoy it once, during our stay, but made coffee in our kitchen. Overall a nice place...but....

Room Tip: Most beds are queen size, Carriage House is nice if you plan to prepare some food on your own, as has a good kitchen
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemeni58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize that it was not communicated effectively that the Carriage house is a one bedroom apartment with a queen-sized pullout bed in the living room. We do try to accommodate guest who are unable to attend the breakfast between 7:30a.m. and 9a.m. during the week by offering To-Go Breakfasts to guests who inquire. We hope you come back and give us another chance to impress you!


As a side note, so future guests are aware, we offer a 360 Tour of all of our rooms on our website, so that you can be sure the room you choose is to your liking before you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We've been to Gainesville many times - we are Florida Gators! - and it took a wedding to get us to this beautiful Inn. It was a great place to stay! The wedding and cocktail party were outdoors on their beautiful grounds.

After the wedding, we relaxed with coffee and tea in the parlor and visited with our friends. It was so nice to have a nice comfy place to just socialize.

Breakfast the next morning was very good. Lots of yummy choices.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Cathy, thank you for taking the time to give future guests your perspective. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable spaces we offer, and that you were able to experience a wedding on our premises! Keep us in mind when you are booking rooms during football season - we offer competitive rates and still include the gourmet breakfast and wine and cheese hour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Came down from New York for a wedding and stayed here for two nights. Everything about this place exceed my expectations, including all the staff. Came down from New York for a wedding and stayed here for two nights. Everything about this place exceed my expectations, including all the staff. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is great, the neighborhood is great, and it’s an easy walk to the downtown restaurants. And for history buffs, there’s a historic mansion and multi-acre park next door.

Room Tip: You can view all the unique rooms online and book the one you want.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thanks for the great review, Bill! We absolutely love being close to the Matheson Museum and the downtown area. It gives our guests a chance to experience a lot of the things Gainesville has to offer, all in a very close proximity to the inn. We hope next time you need to get away from New York you consider coming down to Florida to see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful and the location good. We were within walking distance of nice restaurants. The rooms are ok but there's a musty smell throughout. It was quite enough as we stayed on a weekday.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelergirlfrom1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us some feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve! We're glad you found the property beautiful, and convenient to Gainesville's beautiful downtown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Overall, this is a place to consider toward the top of the short list in Gainesville, but we returned from an event at 9:30 p.m. on a Saturday night to turn in and were kept up until past Midnight by a live guitarist playing cover songs with sound/speaker amplifiers. He was performing at a wedding reception on an outdoor patio in the adjoining banquet hall, intermixed with a DeeJay playing songs. We endured ambient noise from the loud talkative crowd outside enjoying festivities as well. This was all less than 20 yards from the main B&B, and our room. At 11:45p.m., we finally went in the kitchen called the after-hours line. We were told ----1.) that a staffer would promptly drive over to remind the wedding reception that they needed to be inside; 2.) they were in violation of rental policies if the banquet hall doors were open and the musician was outside playing---which they could hear through the phone line; and 3.) that there is City noise ordinance cut-off for 10 p.m. as well. At about 12:20 a.m, (and after 2 rap songs by the DeeJay who was intent on bringing the party up a notch, not down a notch), we heard a person announcing on the microphone that everyone needed to go back inside. The sound was still significant, but diluted enough that we could eventually fall asleep.

The next morning the parents of the booking party greeted us at breakfast saying that they were sorry about the young people's noise that went late, but that we should've joined the party.

Meantime, the innkeeper who answered our call about the noise the night before said there was a mistake, that we shouldn't have been booked that weekend (the wedding party had all or most of the rooms)--- she would refund the night's stay, and that we would be sent another one-night stay certificate "to give another chance to enjoy the property."

The next morning, the desk person didn't say anything about a refund, and we didn't ask. I sent a follow-up email a few days later after not receiving anything on email, and was told it had been processed.

This is a charming place I've stayed in before, some years back, on two different work-related trips on weekdays, and I know the City very well. Just a word to the wise ---- If the weekends are booked now to take advantage of McKenzie Banquet Hall that they operate right next door across the quaint brick driveway, then beware of those bookings if you want assured R&R. They have just opened a major new cottage at the back of the property as well. This is a small "campus" and major operation --- not just an inn with a handful of individual rooms.

The garden is very large and lovely to read a book in under the shade. The breakfast is substantial, and one of the best in the business --- I always stay at B&B's first or locally owned hospitality venues. I can say without reservation this is a major breakfast buffet with many good choices. There is also a Kuerig machine for coffee on your own with access to the refrigerator for cream, which is a nice touch. The historic house is lovingly restored with creaky floors (early risers can be heard). There is not a lot of counter space in the rooms and the corners/large bedframes are tight in some rooms, so watch your hips and feet. Just be aware of the booking traffic occurring at this site and that staff/owners are not on or near the premises to supervise if anything goes awry, unlike many other inns.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flabreezetoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Public Relations Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

We're so happy the refund for your stay went through!

We are still very sorry the event guests took their time wrapping up their event - we do have special policies requiring events to be over at specified times, and with over 100 wedding guests it can be a little difficult at times to round them all up to put an end to their good time.

We're also very glad you enjoyed breakfast - we take pride in our food! We'd love to have you back for another stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews