We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I always look forward to my visits to Gainesville, because I get to stay at Sweetwater Branch Inn!! It is my home away from home. Always a happy smiling face to answer the phone or welcome you. The absolutely best breakfasts ever and I am a cat person so the roaming wild kitties to greet me when I am outside are always a welcome site.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Lauren, what high praise! It doesn't really get better than "home away from home". We hope to see you soon. We'll have the delicious breakfast and lazy kitties waiting :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 335 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Heirloom room for our 23rd Anniversary and it was wonderful. It has a beautiful sunroom and access to a great porch upstairs. The decor was very Victorian looking just like you expect. The breakfast is so good you wish you could eat more. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will be back soon

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hi Kathleen! Thank you for spending such a special evening with us. We're glad you enjoyed yourself, and we hope we can make celebrating your anniversary at Sweetwater Branch Inn a tradition! Also, don't be shy at breakfast - there is always enough for seconds :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed in the Heirloom room with my daughter. It was furnished with beautiful antiques as was the rest of the house.This room had a separate small sunroom with a comfortable sleeper sofa. There are other rooms at the Inn with a similar arrangement if you need the space for another person(s). The property and grounds were lovely and I can see why this is so popular for weddings and receptions. We were able to walk to the downtown area for dining and shopping. There is a walking park just behind the Inn to cut through to get there. Our breakfast was awesome! It was served buffett style and the staff explained everything that was prepared. There are many places to sit and enjoy in the house. We ate one day at the dining table just past the kitchen area and admired the array of antiques and lovely chandelier. The next day we sat on the huge front porch set up with tables and chairs. It s enclosed for comfort but nothing obstructs the view of the front garden. Each room had its designated off street parking space for 1 vehicle but I noticed there was additional parking for Inn guests very close by. This is a great place to stay for couples,friends,and families with older(at least school age)children. I would definitely come back again!

Room Tip: This is an old restored home. If you have trouble with stairs,request a first floor room or a cottag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Judith, we appreciate you taking the time to provide such a thorough guest perspective for our future guests! We hope the lovely time you had will keep you coming back to see us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend and loved it so much we extended our stay for two extra nights. We can't wait to come back when the swimming area is completed. We stayed upstairs in the McKenzie house, everything was clean and comfortable, the decor classic B&B, and I just love those old Victorian houses! We visit our children every month and I'm happy to say we finally found a place we love.

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs, be sure to tell the innkeeper when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Hi Cindy! Thank you for the wonderful review. The pool is complete now, so you'll have to come back and stay with us this summer! We also have a newly renovated cottage called Nora-Belle's that we're sure you would really enjoy. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had to be in Gainesville only overnight, and wanted to avoid the chain hotel experience. Fortunately, we found the Sweetwater Branch Inn and we will definitely be back! Our room on the third floor of the main house was lovely; the house is beautifully maintained and the grounds are gorgeous. We loved the gourmet breakfast the next morning, and the staff were exceptionally warm and welcoming. We would recommend this inn to anyone who appreciates staying in a charming, historic home.

Room Tip: Loved the Luisa room, but we were able to see several other rooms during our stay and all were lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for the kind words, Shelley! Please come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Unfortunately, I was hospitalized on the day of my initial reservation. But when I called SWB 30 min. before my check-in time they painlessly switched my reservation to a later date without any questions or fees!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDHIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

We are so happy that we were able to relieve some of the stress this situation must have put on you. Please come and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Loved our stay at this Bed and Breakfast. Everybody was friendly and eager to please, all public rooms and also the bedroom were very clean and comfortable and the breakfasts were great and plentiful. We enjoyed the party and the food served was delicious. I definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mom33027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you for your review! We're so glad you enjoyed the wedding! :) We hope you'll come back to see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
457 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Gainesville
Courtyard Gainesville
#19 of 47 in Gainesville
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#10 of 47 in Gainesville
675 reviews
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: $152 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing