We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, nicely decorated B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in a second floor, roomy large suite with nice extras like wine and cheese and brownies. Convenient location. Breakfast was okay, but could have been better. Staff was polite and accommodating.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank flagene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Hi there! Thank you for the input; we understand that there is always something we can do to improve, and we hope to thoroughly impress you the next time around. We really pride ourselves on the delicious home-cooked meals we provide at breakfast, so we take your opinion seriously, and will look for ways we can turn that "okay" into an "excellent"! Come see us again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 338 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

The honeymoon cottage has a work shed attached to it and they were building something so it sounded like they started hammering our roof everyday at 8am and a pot we pulled out was completely filthy. The breakfast was way smaller than what you normally get at a Hilton, and cheese and wine hour was a very small bowl of cheddar, Swiss, and Gouda and two bottles of yellow tail. The only thing I liked was the jacuzzi tub and being left alone...but there were workers all over our cottage from hours before we WANTED to be awake until night. For $169 a night I rly expected to at least be AS happy as I would have been in a Hilton.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliakgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Julia - We're very sorry to hear you had a disappointing stay. We try to keep our maintenance hours strictly from after breakfast (around 9pm) to around wine and cheese time (6pm). We're also in the major part of a complete building renovation for our brand new 2 bedroom cottage and we're building an eco-friendly in-ground pool and spa - both of these projects will be completed within the next month- 2 months, but they both do happen to be within 200-400 ft. of the Honeymoon Cottage, and for that we are profoundly sorry for the noise disturbance. We'll be speaking to our maintenance workers asap to fix that timing problem!
Our wine and cheese hour each afternoon is stocked with gourmet cheeses, crackers, and usually some sort of 'extra' item like homemade focaccia bread or fresh fruit. Wine and cheese is the perfect light afternoon refreshment for our guests!
As for breakfast being small, we try to have an extensive hot buffet open for our guests each morning - with sweet dishes like crepe pie and french toast casserole, savory dishes like vegetable frittatas and home fries, meats like sausages, canadian bacon, and corned beef hash, and then our consistent cold bar is always stocked with fresh homemade granola, french vanilla yogurt, fresh fruit, english muffins and toast, orange juice and coffee. We've found this normally surpasses most breakfast offerings at the larger chains, and we're very sorry if this didn't fit your expectations. We do send an email out to each guest roughly a week before check-in to asure all dietary restrictions and needs are met and cared for each morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

During the troubled time of caring for family The Sweetwater Branch Inn has made this time easier and very restful. With a comfy bed, chairs and sofas here and there, and a good breakfast, Sweetwater is a place that I will return to as this period unfolds.

The other bonus of staying here is that the Inn is located downtown in a historic part of Gainesville with cute shops to see and parks to stroll in.

Thanks very much!

Room Tip: Ask for the Blue Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Owner at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Tasha, we're so glad you chose Sweetwater as a place to rest and relax during this time. Feel free to come back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

From the moment my husband and I stepped on to the property of the Sweetwater Branch Inn, we felt "at home." Scott greeted us with a warm smile and quickly checked us in to our room. He provided information about the inn as well as local events that were going on during the weekend. We stayed in the Isadora room of the McKenzie House. I have to say the pictures on the website don't do this room justice. From the comfy bed to the jacuzzi tub, everything was perfect. We enjoyed reading in the stained glass window sitting area and even took a nap there in the afternoon. I can't even begin to convey how scrumptious the breakfast was at the Sweetwater. Everything was homemade from the corned beef hash to the granola. The staff welcomed us into the kitchen and it felt like we were part of the family. Even Butterscotch, one of the resident felines, greeted us each morning. The gardens are beautiful and we enjoyed sipping a glass of wine in the evening while listening to one of the many fountains on the property. We were celebrating our anniversay and I believe that the Sweetwater Branch Inn will become our traditional anniversary getaway. If you are looking for hospitality, clean rooms with southern charm and a relaxing retreat from a busy life, I hightly recommend the Sweetwater Branch Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Linda! We absolutely LOVED having you two around. And Butterscotch has never been so happy :) Please do come stay with us again, and thank you from all of us here at Sweetwater Branch Inn for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast for your stay in Gainesville. The rooms are beautiful, and the staff could not be more pleasant and helpful. My wife lost one her diamond earrings while there, and one of the staff found it and returned it to her, Breakfast was also a "10 out of 10" !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Stephen and Denise,

It was a pleasure having you at the inn! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I wanted to share my experience at Sweetwater Baranch Inn. They were so friendly, attentive and helpful. An exceptional experience overall.
We had booked the Mackenzie hall at Sweetwater for our daughters wedding. They were there every step of the way to make sure what we needed, we received. We had decided after we booked the wedding reception to stay at the Inn. There were about 20-25 family members staying with us. We all had a wonderful time and enjoyed the house so much. The house makes you feel like you are walking into your grandparent home. The breakfast in the morning fills the house with a beautiful smell that beckons you to the large front porch to sit, eat and linger. We will go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Leslie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with future guests! We are glad you, your family and friends enjoyed all of our facilities. We hope to share many more special moments with all of you in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Sweetwater Branch Inn for 2 night this past summer. The cottage was very spacious with ample room to throw a small party. It has a well appointed eat in kitchen, a Jacucuzzi on the porch, and a super comfy bed.
The gardens were gorgeous and the food was delicious! I had a wonderful time chatting with the innkeepers too.
It is located in a lovely area with lots of period homes. It is convinient to the University, shopping , and resturants. The breakfast was wonderful and I really enjoyed the wine and cheese in the afternoon. I can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The cottages are very spacious and good for families. They would also accomdate extra company for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Hi Sarah,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay enough to leave a review! The extra "room tip" for future guests is a nice touch as well. We truly pride ourselves on providing a unique experience for our guests and your recognition of this is much appreciated. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 47 in Gainesville
461 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Gainesville
Courtyard Gainesville
#19 of 47 in Gainesville
183 reviews
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
680 reviews
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: $152 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing