We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida Done Well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2010

Cyndy and Joe continue to deliver an excellent experience. Friendly, unobtrusive service. Good breakfasts. Unusual accommodations.

We had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank csbGreensboro_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 368 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

We stay here each time we travel from Montgomery, AL to Jupiter, FL, and always look forward to it. The service is fantastic, and the atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The innkeepers and staff are very professional, and make themselves available if you need anything. They are really good with helping you plan evening activities. The property is beautiful, comfortable, and clean! Snacks, beverages, CD's, DVD's, are always available (plus wine at 5:00 PM). A gourmet breakfast is served every morning (we had quiche, sausage, french toast, fresh fruit/yogurt compote, orange juice, and coffee.) Our favorite is Beth's Courtyard, a quiet, private cottage with one bedroom (queen bed and fine linens), a livingroom/kitchen combo, and large bathroom with a walk-in shower. (To our delight, the innkeepers had upgraded the cottage with a large screen TV). We have also stayed in Jasmine, a beautiful, first-floor bedroom at the back of the mansion across from the kitchen. We just loved the large, comfortable queen bed in this room! There is also a fabulous gas fireplace, TV/VCR, telephone, and Bose clock radio. The bathroom is Victorian, with a claw-foot tub/shower combination. The other guests we meet at this B&B are delightful and interesting. Each time we stay here, we wish we could stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2DogLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Very pretty and comfortable.
Nice neibourhood.
Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grpGeorgia_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We were traveling to South Florida and stayed overnight in Gainesville. We chose this BnB based upon the positive feedback and we were sure glad we did. The people were so nice, and the cottage we stayed in (called the "Nutmeg") was so cozy and perfect for our small family. The owners are very nice, too. I would highly recommend this place to a friend or family member.

One area for improvement. We stayed on two consecutive Sunday nights. We noted to the young lady at checkout that the shower head in our cottage needed replaced (it worked okay, but the water pressure was too low and the spray nozzles were not spraying straight - errant streams shot right into your eye). The second Sunday the shower head was the same. Would have received a perfect rating had they taken care of this detail.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duqjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Spacious, clean, well appointed rooms with beautiful ground and gardens with all the comforts of a B& made even better by the gracious and warm staff and owners. Cottages with multiple bedrooms and baths and kitchens are superb for families

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_bubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed at the Magnolia for only one night but it was a great choice. It is very convenient to town and yet is very quiet and peaceful. We were greeted by Cindy and shown our room. We stayed in one of the cottages that allows pets because we had our schnauzer, Rhett, with us. Our room was very spacious with a jacuzzi, fireplace and refrigerator. Wine was served at 5PM which we enjoyed before heading on to our dinner reservations at Amelia's. The night was a very cool one so it was really nice to return to the inn and turn on our fireplace. I had absolutely no problems accessing their free wi-fi on my computer. The next morning we made our way to a very yummy breakfast. Everything we were served was very tasty!! Checkout was a breeze and then we were on our way to explore the area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I could only get away for one night. Cindy made us feel so welcome and even made arrangements so that we could sneak in a quick breakfast, before the other guests were served, so that we wouldn't be late to pick up our daughter from her sitter. This was our third trip to Magnolia Plantation. A perfect get away right in our own back yard!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
3.5 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 47 in Gainesville
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 309 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: $95 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLAN YOUR GETAWAY FOR THE MONTH OF JUNE! FROM JUNE 6-30 YOU CAN BOOK ANY COTTAGE OR ROOM FOR 25% OFF. JUST USE THE CODE "GETAWAY" AT CHECKOUT WHEN YOU BOOK ONLINE. Magnolia Plantation is a 5 room Inn with 7 private Cottages all located on almost 2 acres of landscaped gardens with pond, waterfall and water features throughout the property. Breakfast is served in the morning and snacks and beverages are served in the evening. Walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing