We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stay at Magnolia Plantation B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must stay at Magnolia Plantation B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

IN Gainesville, the Magnolia Plantation Inn bed and breakfast has been our favorite stay for all the years our son has been in the university. It is elegant, spotless, charming, and enchanting. The sevice is beyond reproach, and the welcome is incomparable. You cannot find anything close to it. It's homey and nostalgic. We just love it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaBoyntonBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
99
134
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

The Magnolia Plantation is truly a jewel. The staff is warm and friendly. The breakfast is outstanding and the location is perfect for events downtown as well as on UF campus. The grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullgatorair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

I don't know how many times I've stayed here by now, but I was pleased right from the start so never looked elsewhere for my frequest Gainesville trips. The staff goes above and beyond and the photos demonstrate what a truly specila inn this is!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

Magnolia Plantation has been a home away from home and wonderful sanctuary for my doctoral program colleagues and I over the last two years. Joe, Cindy, and their staff are gracious, delightful, and accommodating hosts who have ensured that our visits several times each semester are stress free and relaxing. The Inn itself is simply beautiful and Key Lime Cottage feels like home to us now! If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable, wonderful stay in Gainesville for education, business, or just sheer relaxation, Magnolia is for you. (P.S., and the breakfasts are astonishing!!).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tholbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale, FL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

There is NO way to describe this and do it any justice. It is like walking into a "time warp" into another place ... another time. It is often difficult to decide whether or not you will "get your monies worth" just by looking at images on the internet or reading reviews by other guests. The best you can hope for is that it will not disappoint, let alone meet expectations.

LOOK NO FURTHER! It will be MOST difficult to find another place that will meet or match the overall rating for the Magnolia. If you like to experiment, or enjoy adventure, keep looking. If you want an experience and not just a "get-away" ... Magnolia is the place for you. In a hotel room ... you will look for places to visit and things to do to get out of the hotel room environment (unless you want to just sleep and sometimes you don't even get that). At Magnolia ... I couldn't wait to get back to our room. There wouldn't be enough space (or time) to even start talking about Joe and Cindy ( the owners ).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Gma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

As a first timer at a bed and breakfast the experience was awesome. The innkeepers Joe and Cindy made us stay very special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biggatorfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

Very relaxing, owner and staff make you feel right at home. Wonderful gardens. Loved the wine and cheese. Will return again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misslindalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#26 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 309 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Plantation is a 5 room Inn with 7 private Cottages all located on almost 2 acres of landscaped gardens with pond, waterfall and water features throughout the property. Breakfast is served in the morning and snacks and beverages are served in the evening. Walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing