We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOOK NO FURTHER!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2009

There is NO way to describe this and do it any justice. It is like walking into a "time warp" into another place ... another time. It is often difficult to decide whether or not you will "get your monies worth" just by looking at images on the internet or reading reviews by other guests. The best you can hope for is that it will not disappoint, let alone meet expectations.

LOOK NO FURTHER! It will be MOST difficult to find another place that will meet or match the overall rating for the Magnolia. If you like to experiment, or enjoy adventure, keep looking. If you want an experience and not just a "get-away" ... Magnolia is the place for you. In a hotel room ... you will look for places to visit and things to do to get out of the hotel room environment (unless you want to just sleep and sometimes you don't even get that). At Magnolia ... I couldn't wait to get back to our room. There wouldn't be enough space (or time) to even start talking about Joe and Cindy ( the owners ).

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Gma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
There are newer reviews for The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 363 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2009

As a first timer at a bed and breakfast the experience was awesome. The innkeepers Joe and Cindy made us stay very special.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggatorfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

Very relaxing, owner and staff make you feel right at home. Wonderful gardens. Loved the wine and cheese. Will return again

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misslindalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Blair was exceptionally helpful making our arrangements, including dining recommendations and dining reservations at local rstaurants. Particularly enjoyed Joe and Cindy's hospitality and insight into the local heritage sites. Breakfast was delicious.

Our cottage was more than we hoped for, exceptionally well decorated and comfortable. Enjoyed the water features both day and night, and especially the Secret Garden.

We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ocalacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Joe and Cindy provide a beautiful B&B with multiple lodging options (main house, private bungalos, cottages) that is the perfect location for a romantic get-away, as a home base to explore the U of F campus, and to get to know Gainesville's interesting history. The breakfasts are delicious, wine and cheese is served in the afternoon, and the gardens are beautiful to walk through.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatorMBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We loved the entire property, and the choices for accomodations. My husband and I traveled with another couple, and the combination of Nutmeg and Ginger was perfect for us. We each our own bedroom and bathroom and shared a comfortable living room and kitchen and a relaxing private porch. We enjoyed all the fountains and the entire "estate".. so much more than the just the typical one large mansion B&B. Breakfast on the patio- by the carriage house with the other guests was a perfect spot to relax and enjoy a "country within a city" experience. Cindy and Joe were perfect hosts...friendly and entertaining. This funky B&B was clean, not manicured.. a great get-away spot..

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flroro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed in the "Carriage House" and it was breathtaking. The bed was so comfortable and the wrap around veranda was amazing. Sitting out there made us feel like we were in a tree house. We felt like we were in a different place it was so surreal. Cindy the owner was gracious and her breakfast was delightful. If you haven't tried this B&B then you are missing out. We will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelb4udie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 46 in Gainesville
449 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn

Address: 309 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: $95 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLAN YOUR GETAWAY FOR THE MONTH OF JUNE! FROM JUNE 6-30 YOU CAN BOOK ANY COTTAGE OR ROOM FOR 25% OFF. JUST USE THE CODE "GETAWAY" AT CHECKOUT WHEN YOU BOOK ONLINE. Magnolia Plantation is a 5 room Inn with 7 private Cottages all located on almost 2 acres of landscaped gardens with pond, waterfall and water features throughout the property. Breakfast is served in the morning and snacks and beverages are served in the evening. Walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing