We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious hosts sharing beautiful spaces”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gracious hosts sharing beautiful spaces”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My husband and I were in Gainesville for a business seminar he attended at the University. I wanted to stay in a B&B where I could walk places, and yet be close enough to drop him off for his meetings. We had a wonderful stay in Beth's Courtyard Cottage. Perfect for the two of us, and comfortable to just hang out in. Well-appointed cottage with everything we needed. It was very quiet, didn't even hear any street noise since it is in the middle of the property behind the main house. Landscaping was lovely. Breakfasts were very good, and they made them vegetarian for us. Our innkeepers were very nice, gave good tips for local things to see and do. Perfect spot for us to be for almost a week and a nice respite from the winter we've been having. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
100
136
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, CT
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband, brother, and sister-in-law spent 3 nights at the Magnolia while attending a wedding nearby. We had very comfortable accommodations and delicious breakfasts. The last weekend of Feb. was chilly even for us from New England so we enjoyed the gas fireplaces and quilts. Who knew we would travel to Florida and need to sleep in front of a fireplace? Joe and Cindy are wonderful hosts. If you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed in the Secret Garden cottage for five weeks and loved it. Joe and Cindy are wonderful hosts, and Gainesville is a great place to go if you want to escape winter! Great place anything, I think. Cottage is beautifully furnished, and I enjoyed the sound of water falling in the fountain in the garden. As a plus, I was able to take my calico cat for company.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jothomas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My partner and I and our dog stayed at the Magnolia Plantation recently and were thrilled with the experience. We had originally selected the Cinnamon cottage. Cindy called early that day to ask if we would upgrade to the Carriage House as she had a group of four and that the Cinnamon would be perfect for this group. She explained that the carriage house was ideal for a dog as it had a wrap around porch that would allow the dog to be in or out and observe all of the activity at the plantation. The whole experience was great. The room was beautiful and very comfortable and quiet. Our dog did love the porch! It was a very cool weekend and gas fireplaces in the main room and bathroom were lovely. The location of the plantation is perfect for neighborhood walks with a dog and an easy and pleasant walk to downtown. A truly dog friendly establishment where you feel like you are at home rather than at a hotel or B&B.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Carriage house, charming, Victorian furnished as is the main house. Secret gardens to read in & relax. Fireplaces in every room! Which I actually needed to use. Largest tub ever! Lovely wrap around porch wish I could have enjoyed it longer. Remodeled and all the comforts are here. Great find!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JoJo155SAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

One of our son's lives and works in Gainesville - because he is also the pianist for a church he can not get away at Christmas time. So now our little family converges in Gainesville to spend Christmas. The Magnolia Plantation, Miss Huey's Cottage was absolutely charmiing and a home away from home for 3 nights! We especially loved the gas fireplace! It was important for us to have family meals together NOT at restaurants. We were able to relax and enjoy each others company! The kitchenette was small but adequate for heating our delicious Publix prepared meals. The grounds, porches, bedrooms, bath were all great!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Littlepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Carriage House and it was perfect! The room was tidy, the bathroom was amazing and you can't beat the large wrap around patio. Cindy and Joe were the perfect hosts to our special weekend. They had great restaurant recommendations and made us feel at home. They were more than excited about our Labrador retriever saying the weekend too!

We're already planning our next stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julierivera21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
431 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.7 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#25 of 44 in Gainesville
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 309 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6831
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLAN YOUR GETAWAY FOR THE MONTH OF JUNE! FROM JUNE 6-30 YOU CAN BOOK ANY COTTAGE OR ROOM FOR 25% OFF. JUST USE THE CODE "GETAWAY" AT CHECKOUT WHEN YOU BOOK ONLINE. Magnolia Plantation is a 5 room Inn with 7 private Cottages all located on almost 2 acres of landscaped gardens with pond, waterfall and water features throughout the property. Breakfast is served in the morning and snacks and beverages are served in the evening. Walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing