We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francesca's Trattoria

Francesca's Trattoria
Ranked #24 of 566 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Bar staff is always amazing! You can't beat a mom and pops Italian restaurant! My wife and I come here 3 times a week and sometimes twice on Sundays for brunch and dinner. Everyone is extremely knowledgable about all the food and wine! Music is always a great plus and yes they have that too! Best restaurant in north central florida!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    82
    36
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top notch Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

After living in Gainesville for 10+ years we had never been to this gem. Made it there tonight and was pleasantly surprised. The pasta massimo was very good but the bucatini ala shrimp and goat cheese was the star. Service was exquisite and we took a tiramisu to go which was also excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bakaduin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good, Basic Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This busy trattoria serves up predictable Italian favorites in a very pleasant setting. Our party of seven arrived early and was seated promptly, but reservations are definitely recommended as the restaurant filled up quickly. The Bucatina All' Amatriciana was good, and the rest of our party made short work of their entre's as well. Acceptable food in a better than average atmosphere

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Went here for my birthday dinner last year with my grown children. Food was OK, nothing great, kind of heavy. We had reservations, didn't need them, the place was almost empty. It's large inside, like you would find in a chain restaurant. Won't be going back...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank k5acook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Fl
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This restaurant never disappoints. The portion are large and the food delicious. Servers are also top notch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank albanianfoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Francesca's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing