We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared for sticker shock!”

Francesca's Trattoria
Ranked #29 of 568 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be prepared for sticker shock!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The food was good, but no where near worth the prices! The prices were outrageous for the quality and portions received. The service was great. The atmosphere was nice, nothing fancy. The food was okay. The prices were way out of line with the quality of food and the atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank deebeejoyful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    84
    36
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
coral springs florida
1 review
“Our rehearsal dinner”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a wedding rehearsal dinner at Francesca's for 37 people. My wife worked with the manager for several months to plan everything. The event went wonderfully. Shel (the manager) had everything ready when we arrived as planned. The food was great. Our guests got a choice from 5 entrees. The portions were very generous and the taste and quality was outstanding. The wait staff did a very good job of serving and keeping up with the needs of all of our guests. The ambiance of the restaurant is quite nice as well. Elegant but not over the top. It is a very nice atmosphere. There was even some live music going on. All of our guests were very complimentary about the entire affair. Everyone commented on the quality and quantity of the food. Some even took "to-go" boxes.

We had visited Francesca's last Thanksgiving while on a scouting trip to Gainesville to find and select the venue for the dinner. Our dinner then was equally as good and that is why we chose to have the dinner there. Since that visit whenever we visit our son (a Gator) we make our way here for dinner.

Overall, I would highly recommend Francesca's for a nice evening out. Good food, good people, good prices.

Paul Mabel
pimab1950@gmail.com

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good dinner but.....”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Food (chicken parm) and service were great. Rather expensive (about $60.00 with salad and wine and entree for two people with the tax and tip added in) but nice for a special occasion. However, it was incredibly loud even without the live music (very nice duo). Impossible to keep yelling across the table or to hear our friends. Turned what we had hoped would be a lovely evening into a shouting match. Pity. The option would be to go there for lunch when it is quieter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GalleryStars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
“As good as My Momma!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have had yet another stellar dinner at Francesca's Trattoria. For a starter, I had the Pasta Fagioli, it was really very tasty. I had the Eggplant Rollatini for an entree and angel hair pasta. Wonderful. I am looking at the reviews here on the side of the page and just think those folks are kinda nuts.... one was too much food, and the other states they are too skimpy. What the??? Price is just fine for the value. We were there on a Thursday night and it was busy w live music. We were a party of 8 and we had excellent service from Clarissa, who took very good care of us. I know for a fact that the sauces and sausage are all prepared on site with no fillers of any kind. I have had in the past... the Chicken Milanese; the Seafood salad, both fired and sauteed; the Ravioli; the Panini's, as well as the Pizza. I have NEVER been disappointed. I can't wait to go again. As I stated in my title.... As good as my Momma's!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joebeimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best visit ever!!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I just recently went to Francesca's for a birthday dinner. I've been going there for years but this visit was absolutely the best!!! The wait staff was fabulous and the food even better!!! I couldn't have asked for a better chicken Milanese !! Hats off to the chefs!! It melted in my mouth!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ditdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Francesca's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing