We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“It's all about location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's all about location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

If you have ever been to Gainesville you would know hotels around campus are few. The Hilton is over priced and the holiday inn is worn out so the union is your only choice without having to stay at the highway. The room is clean and bed comfortable. The furnishings are nice as well. The room smelled a little musty from age. My guess is the aging ac needs to be replaced. The bathroom while cleAn could use an overhaul . Stairs are an issue once you park. When parking in the garage you will have no choice but to use them. The patio is great. After all is there anything more wonderful for a gator then a view of the stadium or campus? If you think it would be great to be near the union food court for meals remember they operate on student hours. I'm currently sitting in my room at the union typing this because the Starbucks doesn't even open till noon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaTourist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
7
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting UF. Hotel is right on campus in the Reitz Union Student Union building.
Pros:
- clean room with spacious balcony and view of UF stadium
- comfortable beds and pillows
- excellent location if visiting UF
- parking is free
- includes continental breakfast (but was limited with only coffee, juice, bagels, and yogurt)
- lots of food choices in the Student Union (Starbucks, market with frozen yogurt and sushi, Panda Express, salads, subs, etc.)
- staff are very helpful and friendly
Cons:
- parking is confusing but that really can't be helped
Tip: Don't try to park in the parking garage before checking in. Park out front in the 1/2 circle loading zone in front of the Reitz Union, go in to the desk to check in, You may want to unload your luggage before parking in the garage -- there are ramps and elevators from the front loading area to your room. If you go to the parking garage first, you'll have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs.
Note: students do not have access to the hotel floors. You must use your room key in the elevator to access the hotel floors.

Room Tip: Tip: Don't try to park in the parking garage before checking in. Park out front in the 1/2 cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
110 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed for one night so my son could visit U of F. Check in was friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat for doing things on campus. As the hotel is in the student union you have access to the food court and bookstore. Room was very basic but clean and it had a nice balcony facing the football stadium. Free breakfast was decent served in a hallway. Once you get the hang of the confusing access to the garage, it's an easy process. I paid $99 for the room and that is a fair price for the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raincheck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The views of campus are amazing. We had a corner room on the 6th floor looking the Swamp and Century Tower - awesome! The room was very clean with nice furniture, but a little small. There is a complimentary continental breakfast which was good, but a little limited on selection. They only had yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, bagels, coffee, tea & OJ. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 171PickyTraveler171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, NC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights this past weekend to attend a Florida Men's Basketball Game. We had a Deluxe Guest Room with 2 queen beds. The room was clean and spacious. We were able to walk to most anywhere on campus. Parking in the attached garage was included in the room rate. The complimentary breakfast consisted of bagels, cereal, oatmeal, juices, and coffee. Perfectly fine for our needs. Our only disappointment was that there were very few places open on the weekend to eat at the Reitz Union. The Starbucks was closed the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARMYG8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently visited UF campus and were recommended the Reitz Union Hotel, which turned out to be an excellent choice. Room was clean and spacious and overall extremely comfortable. Balcony with chairs and table. Excellent continental style breakfast with good choice of cereal, bagels, pastries etc. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

My colleague and I stayed here while visiting UF on business. Front of house staff were very helpful and we received a discount voucher for dining within the union. The room had a balcony meaning you could make the most of what the sunshine state does best. Room very clean and offered a nice variety of guest supplies. The complimentary breakfast was amazing and most tastes would be catered for.

The only minor (and it is a very minor) grumble was that there was some weird switching to the sockets to the room meaning if you switched the lights out she heading out, you couldn't charge things plugged into the sockets.

This hotel is a good All rounder and a great option if visiting University of Florida.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MChristian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
1.7 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#17 of 44 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus

Property: Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus
Address: Museum Road At 655 Reitz Union Dr, University of Florida Campus, Gainesville, FL 32611-0001
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of the University of Florida campus, the Reitz Union Hotel offers comfortable and affordable accommodations for the entire UF community. Located atop the UF student union, our 36 rooms come in various configurations from a standard room with 2 double beds to 2 room suites. We offer a convenient campus location, free local telephone calls, complimentary continental breakfast, free Wi-Fi Internet, in-room refrigerators and reserved campus parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing