We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite hotel in Gainesville”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My new favorite hotel in Gainesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

We just stayed at Sleep Inn & Suites while visiting our daughter at UF. They offer a parent discount, but even without it, the price is an excellent value. The hotel looks brand new and is spotless! The beds are comfortable and the continental breakfast is comparable to others in the area. Before discovering this hotel, I was spending more money and getting less. I like it much better than Spring Hill Suites across the street.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    133
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
221
130
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

Very clean, comfortable beds. Within easy distance of shops and restaurants.

Staff very friendly

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinFlorida40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, Ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

Hotel was new and very clean. Everything worked as expected. Hotel personnel were freindly and helpful. Plenty of restaurants close by. Would definitely stay again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mustang87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel multiple times due to appointments at Shands @ UF. Not only is this hotel is very clean & neat, they have adapted the "green" approach. The staff is extremely friendly and always helpful. Due to my health issues, I am unable to eat often, but the breakfast always looks amazing, and they also offer free cookies & coffee all day. The staff has always been generous in giving great suggestions on local eatieries and so forth. The beds are so comfortable, I hardly miss my own, and the air conditioner is temperature controlled which helps with the comfortability of the room. This hotel does fill up quickly on UF ball game weekends, but after staying here, you wouldn't question why.

  • Liked — Cleanliness & friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank araemck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

Hotel is still new. The room,lobby, and breakfast room were nice and clean. Free contindental breakfast included make-them-yourself waffles, a variety of yogurt, cereals, juices, pastries, and fresh coffee. The staff was friendly & hospitable. They even baked fresh cookies for the front desk/lobby area. The beds were plenty comfortable, but the pillows were dreamy. They were exceptionally lofty and perfect to rest your tired head on. Plus, they give you extra. It is right off of Interstate 10 and Archer Road (which is an I-10 exit and a road that goes straight to UF, Shands, and the VA hospital. Also, it is close to almost every kind of restaurant,a Target, a WalMart, a Publix, and tons more. Great price for the area. I got an even better price by calling the front desk of that specific hotel and asking for the cheapest rate. Don't forget your discount membership cards (AAA, AARP, etc). From Pensacola, Florida

  • Liked — Location {and talking elevator :-)}
  • Disliked — Everything was great. Wish we could have stayed longer.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GatorMom88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stopped here on our way home from Miami. This is a very nice hotel with a good price. The rooms and beds are nice and the pool was really nice. No issues and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kori99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2008

Stayed here for one night on a stopover. The property is brand new with large, comfortable rooms and nice amenities. We had a coupon rate of $59, but even at the standard of $79 that was quoted to us this would have been a great value.
Breakfast selection and seating is a bit limited and will probably get crowded once more people discover this place.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Address: 4110 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Recently renovated, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, Complimentary Shuttle Service (based on availability), and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing