We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They pay attention to detail.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Business center is good, small exercise room is good. Popcorn and Cookies are good. You have the manager's cell phone 24/7. A great experience. I would definetly stay here again. I was able to personally speak to the manager and inform him of the great customer service that I received.

Room Tip: Every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 546 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very pleased with the level of service at this hotel. The check in staff was helpful, but the real treat was the free breakfast attendant. He was so attentive that it felt like full service dining for our extended family with many children. I was also pleased to learn about the game shuttle. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The price was right and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdeangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a great hotel for game day! Close to campus and they run shuttle's to the game to make it easy. Also, the staff is VERY helpful and are accommodating to large groups staying there. This was my first stay here, and will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my first stay at a Sleep Inn and honestly was a little concerned. I have to say, I'm quite shocked at the hotel, the customer service, price and location. All of the above mentioned were exceptional! I would stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone. Taylor at the front desk was outstanding, friendly and extremely helpful. I am considering moving to Gainesville and Taylor went out of her way to offer information that was greatly appreciated. Our room was great, slept well, and it was clean. The breakfast was much better than what my daughter is used to at other hotels! Great job staff?

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hab1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Staying here tonight for a procedure at Shands tomorrow. Right off the 384 exit. Not far from the hospital (10 minute drive). They also give hospital discounts. Great price, nice place. Seems well kept, room is clean and comfortable. Has HBO, free wifi. Breakfast in the a.m. which I will not be allowed to eat, is free. Also there were cookies and popcorn in the lobby this evening for guests. Check in was easy, took like 3 minutes total. Definitely will be staying again for other upcoming procedures.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess0383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I travel back and forth from NY to Florida 2 or 3 times a year. Before I came to this place, I stayed at 3 other hotels--two more expensive, one cheaper, and all highly rated by reviewers. I wrote my first Tripadvisor review on the cheaper place. I wish it could have been a good one, but I gave it 2 stars when so many others had given it 4. Well, maybe a good rate impressed them. The other two were better, but one of them was a little dirty for my taste.

This Sleep Inn was the best of the lot, by far. The rate was good, but that's not enough for me at this point in life. I like a clean and comfortable room, and am willing to pay a bit more for one. That was not necessary here. For me, It's not just about the value, its about my comfort. I've stayed at 5 star resorts, and without exageration, this place competes with them. (OK, no casino in this one ;)

I stayed two nights in a large room, scrupulously clean, and quiet. The staff was fine. Other guests were pleasant and friendly--I figure they must have been happy with their stay as well. Add to this the low rate, and the value becomes outstanding.

Room Tip: No bathtub, a walk in shower. No wake up calls. You get an alarm clock in your room. Fridge had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the hotel several time in the last year. In the last month alone we have spent ten nights. Our experience with each stay was excellent and we have never had a negative experience. All of the staff from house cleaning to the front desk have been attentive and more than helpful. The rooms are exceptionally clean and the breakfast bar is well stocked and appetizing. The hotel is convenient to UF Shands. In short Sleep Inn is a great place to stay while in Gainesville.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 47 in Gainesville
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
611 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $83 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Recently renovated, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, Complimentary Shuttle Service (based on availability), and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing