We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for a Soccer Tournament. The people who work here are the nicest most accomodating I have ever seen. The did not make us check out until we found out if we had won or lost our game on Sunday. And then they collected all of the girls uniforms and washed them for our Victory Game the next day! One parent left her keys at a nearby restaurant and they drove her there to get them. A whole team of girls and parents can be a bit loud in the lobby.. they let us use their breakfast room for a meeting. It was inexpensive, close to everything, very clean and the rooms are spacious for the cost and location (its a college town) Perfect!.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmauro3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 549 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel on our way to Georgia. While the beds were comfortable and the shower was good, the hotel itself was relatively dirty. The elevator was very dirty when we arrived and still in the morning. The breakfast area was very crowded and messy and no one was attending it. The area behind the front desk was messy. Overall very mediocre.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingfamilyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed for 1 night in Jan 2013. The location felt safe, was easy to find, and was convenient for visiting the VA. Grocery store and Target were very near.

Pros:
As mentioned above
Friendly, pleasant, professional desk staff
Quick check-in/check-out
Fast internet in business center
Bathroom towels were decent
Room was quiet; bed was comfy
Microfridge in room

Cons:
The room didn't "feel" very clean. The remote and other surfaces were a bit greasy. The desk chair was gross, as if several people had spilled food on it and it was never thoroughly cleaned. There were crumbs in the crevices of the chair. Basically, the room felt as though the cleaning staff took a "good enough" approach.
There was no semi-shear curtain beneath the blackout drapes, so it was "all or none" in terms of privacy/sunlight. Adding a semi-shear curtain would significantly improve the overall quality of the room.
The in room coffee pot was dusty inside.

Misc: I ran out of dental floss and was surprised that the front desk didn't have any.

Room Tip: I used a small cord to tie the drapes in such a way that I could get a little bit of sunlight withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TTL374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We selected this property for its proximity to Shands Hospital and budget-friendly price. We were very pleased with what we got for the money! Fridge, microwave and desk in room, and a real hot breakfast! Room was quiet; no annoying noise from nearby I-75. The comfort and amenities were equal to what one would expect at a higher priced property.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarefootEmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

On our 1st stay we had issues. Manager Bruce asked me to try them again and he'd make sure everything was right. We did and I'm glad that we did!
The room, elevator, halls & breakfast room were spotless each of the 6 days we were there. Breakfast is good and you have many choices and its FREE.
We will be staying again in Feb. as this is convenient to Shands Hospital and its doctors.
The only negative I have is the girls on the weekend shift are unfriendly and too busy playing games or texting friends to even say "hello" to anyone. On the other hand, the week day crew is awesome!
Thank you Bruce for asking me to give you another try!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda5251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This Sleep Inn is very good. I like this hotel chain and try to stay at one. For the money this hotel is way worth it. Next time in the Gainesville area, I will definitely stay here. I stayed at higher priced chains and they are no better than Sleep Inn

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucilleb1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The room was fine but the common areas and breakfast area were not clean. Dirty counters, microwave, etc. Won't stay here next time. For the money, I've seen much better accommodations. First time at a Sleep Inn because of good reviews on tripadvisor but my experience was not great. Best to stick to a chain I'm familiar with.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booherp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 47 in Gainesville
576 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
866 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: $84 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Recently renovated, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, Complimentary Shuttle Service (based on availability), and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing