We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

My husband began the MBA program this weekend at UF. The hotel is a very easy 10 minute drive to the UF campus. We have never stayed at a Sleep Inn before, but we will surely return. I have been overly impressed from the moment we checked in. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Free hot coffee (and it really was hot!), free fresh warm cookies, and free fresh popcorn are a nice touch in the lobby. Free daily breakfast included sausage/ham, biscuits with gravy, scrambled eggs, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, different types of toast, personal sized boxed cereals, three types of juice, piping hot coffee, two waffles makers, and more! Room had a microwave and fridge, very clean sheets and very clean towels in the room, and coffee maker with free coffee. Exercise room has 3 pieces of equipment, they even have a laundry room for guest use, and a very clean pool with lounging chairs. I have zero complaints. I'm so happy we found an affordable hotel we will surely be coming back to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank radha1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    132
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
217
128
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

After reading reviews of hotels in this area we were not looking forward to this night on our road trip. This hotel was wonderful. Very clean and updated. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great crew at the breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvurbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

the site has som many good reviews I think i expected more. But all and all it was a decent hotel - had some problems with the business centre as the printer was only hooked up to the computer that DIDN't have word on it - and got to help on this from the night time staff. But during the day when i asked about nearby food, the young woman at the front desk actually offered to drive me to grocery store across the road when her shift was done. Now that's service! Popcorn in lobby was a nice little touch.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Staff were very friendly. Warm breakfast even better when staff treated us like family.

Room Tip: Roooms are clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

After stopping at 2:00 in the morning, we were greeted with friendly service in the
wee hours of the morning! What a pleasant surprise first to find out that there
was a room available and then to open the rom door to a very nicely appointed room
was such a relief! Our stay was great and although it was a short visit, I will always
check there first during my frequent trips to Gainesville!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gator1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This Sleep Inn is a great place to stay when you are in Gainesville whether for business or pleasure. The staff goes to great lengths to ensure that you have the best possible experience. The rooms are clean and quiet, and the complimentary breakfast has both hot and cold items to choose from. Have stayed here several times and already have reservation for May 2012.

Room Tip: Stayed on second floor next to housekeeping which eliminated noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barnstormer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night at this location. Found hotel to be a great surprise , considering some of the other Choice Hotel Brands out there. Hotel is all non-smoking ! Yeah ! Wish they were all like that. My only personal complaint is the pillows. Choice properties still use the foam/poly pillows, which I hate. Not much else to say about it except we would stay here again the next time through and maybe bring my own pillow next time :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank DudleyDoRight43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#5 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#12 of 45 in Gainesville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Address: 4110 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Newly constructed in 2008, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing