We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Japanese Steakhouse. Go Hungry, and Leave Stuffed!”

Yamato Japanese Steakhouse
Ranked #272 of 576 Restaurants in Gainesville
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Japanese Steakhouse. Go Hungry, and Leave Stuffed!”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I eat here approximately 2 times a month for lunch and/or dinner. The best value is the tepanyaki selections, where a chef cooks in front of the guests. I typically order the chicken, which comes with a salad, soup, vegetables, rice and noodles. Just a word of caution...the tepanyaki style of cooking is very popular at this restaurant, so make sure to get there early and give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the entertainment while the chef prepares your meal. Also, if you dont want to be thirsty after dinner, make sure to ask the chef to bypass the extra sauces sauce on your meal, as they tend to be heavy handed on salt/soy/sweet sauces when cooking the meats and vegetables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiianluau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    23
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always excellent!”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Food is plentiful and delicious! Steak and shrimp melt in your mouth. And the Chefs are wonderful showmen as well. Fun experience. Great if you're looking to celebrate a memorable event or occasion.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank travelsbydori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wow...Was That A Good Lunch”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Found Yamoto Japanese Steakhouse on Trip Advisor this morning before leaving for a fun day in Gainesville with some of my girlfriends. Base on the recommendations of other "Foodies" who blog on this website I thought we would give it a chance. We were NOT DISAPPOINTED ! Lunch was great and so was the company of the other diners at our table. The chef put on a great show and only to be outdone by the great food he created on that grill. Not only was it delicious but very inexpensive. My chicken lunch that included soup, salad, rice and vegies was only $8.45 inclucing tax.
We all left there saying that We Will BE Back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, acceptable prices.”
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I love love Yamatos. I have been to many sushi places and Japanesse restaurants because I love their food. I must say that Yamatos has the best Crab Salad ever and they serve the best fried rice also. I could go to have only the crab salad and the fried rice. The sushi is also great and the show is entertaining as well. I recommend this restaurant. I have visited Yamatos many many times and It is always a pleasure to eat there plus I think they have reasonable prices for the sushi bar. The Yamatos in Ocala is way better than the one in Gainesville, but they voth offer good food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grey0806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I love thiplace and its always a staple for me and my family on birthday celebrations!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melovesly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamato Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Yamato Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing