We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of La Tienda Latina

La Tienda Latina
Ranked #18 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I love Mexican food, I could eat everyday and not get tired of it. Therefore, it was with great excitement that I went to this restaurant. However, it was disappointing. Their pico de gallo was pretty much diced tomatoes and onions (lots), with hardly any seasoning in it. Not being able to eat the poco de gallo was a big letdown since poco de gallo is one of my favorite things at Mexican restaurants. My girlfriend got a quesadilla and I got a chicken burrito, both dishes were pretty bad. Both dishes were very greasy and the taste was just off (and I couldn't even add pico de gallo to add some flavor to it since the pico de gallo was just as bad). Bottom line: I did not like this restaurant and do not recommend it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumserdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    60
    22
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Food made by Great People”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is such a great place! The food is fresh and delicious and the staff is always wonderful. I have eaten here many many times and can't think of anything I didn't like. The guacamole is superb, the fish tacos are delicious. I adore the al pasor pork in anything. They also have a full Mexican Market in the back which is fun to shop for unusual items to try at home. This place is very casual and very reasonably priced. Still the best Mexican in town!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachgypsyfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Delicious food but terrible presentation. If you can get past what your food looks like, it does taste delicious every time.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I absolutely love their mole sauce which is always on the table. Excellent burritos and Jalapeno poppers. Must try the fajitas and fresh chips and salsa. I am not a fan of their fried Tilapia although I like the fish.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NamzyIno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captiva Island, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The chicken chimichanga is... to die for. I recommend substituting plantains for the rice and beans, but that's just me. Also, the queso is pretty delish too, if you're a chips and dip kinda fella.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tienda Latina also viewed

Gainesville, FL
Gainesville, FL
 

Been to La Tienda Latina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing