We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fir Tree Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Collingham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fir Tree Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Collingham B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The house is very pretty and the decor nice. Things we found under par were the lighting on the drive and walking in- it was dark when we arrived after a long drive and the lighting on the drive and the path was really poor. Owners should invest in some decent lighting. The room itself winthorpe was ok but small with little room for luggage and at front of house so bit noisy. Shower was ok with reasonable water flow
We did sneak a look at the giansbourgh room and it would definitely be worth the extra £5! Breakfast was in a pleasant room. All in all ok but nothing special.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the balcony room Gainsborough
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
16
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
300 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

This B and B is about 10 minutes drive to the showground. It is in a very quiet location.

Richard and Alison the owners are very helpful. We had two rooms. Our room, Gainsborough, had a balcony which was nice when the sun shined, there was a good size bathroom with a shower over the bath. Our three grandchildren had a smaller room, Winthrop, with a walk in shower. There is wifi in the rooms with a good connection. The beds are comfortable with good pillows. There are tea and coffee making facilities.

The cost to stay was £95 per night for our room and £85 per night for our grandchildren's room. We had a discount for the multiple nights stay.

The breakfast has a buffet bar with orange juice, cereals, fruit and yoghurt. The cooked breakfast, which you order the night before, is very good.

Room Tip: Gainsborough room is larger and on the sunny side of the house. It also has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

I came to stay at the Fir Tree Cottage B&B for a single night whilst travelling through Nottingham to visit friends. I recieved an extremely hospitable welcome from the lovely Richard and Alison, who were the perfect hosts. I stayed in the Gainsborough room which has a balcony overlooking the beautiful Nottinghamshire countryside and an exceptionally comfortable bed. The breakfast was superb and the service from Richard and Alison was consistenly great throughout. What really differentiates Fir Tree Cottage from other B&B's is the homely atmosphere and family service provided by Richard and Alison. Beautiful setting, exceptional hosts and a scrumptious breakfast. Fir tree ticked every box and more.

(Also, Richard's many languages and interest in history make a good talking point and I'm sure many guests will be pleasently suprised, as I was).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

On our visit from Australia, we had stayed in a few different places and this was a real joy. Warm welcome, immaculately clean, lovely room, comfortable bed, great bathroom facilities and shower, nice breakfast. Richard said he has a simple philosophy - providing accommodation and services to the standard he would expect if he was staying in a B&B. Richard and Alison obviously have very high standards! We would definitely stay at Fir Tree Cottage again and, indeed, have recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

As a regular business traveller I look for three simple things in a B&B, a good bed, good Internet connectivity and owners who care about the quality of their service. Fir Tree cottage B&B ticks all of these boxes. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank liquidations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I and our three daughters spend a very comfortable night at Fir Tree Cottage. It was warm, clean and very peaceful which all contributed to a great nights sleep. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts, Richard and Alison were delightful- we will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting the antiques show in Newark last year. We received a warm welcome from Richard and Alison and were shown to our room - spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and with a large ensuite bathroom. An added bonus was a private balcony for sitting out enjoying the views of the garden and fields to the rear of the property. Breakfast was plentiful and served in the delightful dining room - cooked breakfast if required (order taken the previous evening), fresh berries, yoghurt, cereal, fruit juices etc. Overall we had a great stay and will definitely return if ever back in the area. Richard and Alison have got this just right!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancashirelass055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Collingham
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
Premier Inn Newark Hotel
#1 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kelham House Country Manor Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Grange Hotel
The Grange Hotel
#2 of 6 in Newark-on-Trent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Lions Newark
The Lions Newark
#3 of 39 in Newark-on-Trent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bridge House B & B
Bridge House B & B
#6 of 39 in Newark-on-Trent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
4.2 mi away
Norton Lodge Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fir Tree Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fir Tree Cottage B&B

Property: Fir Tree Cottage B&B
Address: Fir Tree Cottage Newark Road, Collingham, Newark-on-Trent NG23 7RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent > Collingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Collingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fir Tree Cottage is a beautifully restored Victorian Farm Cottage set in its own extensive gardens,just a short stroll from the picturesque village of Collingham,near Newark. The Newark Showground is a four minute drive away and there are regular rail services from the village to Lincoln (15 mins) Newark (5mins) and Nottingham (35 mins). Fir Tree Cottage B&B offers a warm welcome and a comfortable stay for whatever reason you are in the area, business, pleasure, or family reasons. All our food is locally sourced and high quality.Ample parking available. Roof terrace, balcony and use of gardens available to guests.Owner speaks French and German. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing