We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”
Review of The Kings Head - CLOSED

The Kings Head
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Tuxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We came back following a fantastic meal earlier in the year and were not disappointed. Another great meal, we were seated immediately on entry and served with speed and care. The food was superb as ever, we will definitely return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leonidasthewookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

1st impressions were good; the tables were beautifully laid with fresh daffodils on each table. It then went downhill. Whilst standing at the bar having announced our arrival (we had booked a table), my friend commented to me on the ciabatta menu which was on a board at the side of the bar. The lady who was serving us drinks quickly and very tersely told us that this menu was not available to order in the restaurant. The restaurant is in fact one end of an open plan area. So why? We sat in the restaurant as whilst the lunch menu was quite expensive, this was a treat. However, the food was disappointing. My starter was meagre but just acceptable. My lasagne was greasy and bland. The 'frites' were piping hot but strangely hard in the middle. The side salad was outstanding with lots of different leaves and a very tasty dressing. The service whilst being sufficiently efficient was unfriendly in the extreme. The lady who served us at the bar and also at the table was abrupt and did not smile. We did not feel either welcome or valued customers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great meal”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

booked a meal for saturdaynight food and service yet again was outstanding .choice on menu was great and value for money.good time was had by all

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We called in on our way to play at the Americana music festival in Gainsborough on the afternoon of 14th February. We arrived with 10 minutes to go before the kitchen closed and ordered 2 duck confit and one cod dish. The meal was superb, and coming from foodie Ludlow, that means a lot. Despite being on the cusp of the kitchen closing we weren't made to rush or feel hassled. The person on duty was engaging and hospitable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasmartinthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We used to rate this as one of our favourite local places. However the last few times we have been it has been a let down. After more than six months we decided to give it another go, and to be honest, u won't waste time or money going back. Before I comment on the food, I object to children behind the bar and helping to serve food. Not sure hot food should be carried by children or having them walk behind the bar a good idea. The food used to be very high standard using local butchers produce. On our visit the food was okay, but not outstanding and the amount of vegetables for two was laughable. Barely enough for one! Sweets also very small and not the high standard they used to be. Perhaps the waitress could have smiled or at least pretended to be friendly might have helped. Not somewhere I plan to go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah50td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head also viewed

Collingham, Newark-on-Trent
Collingham, Newark-on-Trent
 
Collingham, Newark-on-Trent
Collingham, Newark-on-Trent
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing