We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great, Private, Restful, Canoeing Getaway”
other travelers have booked this property
Rum Island Cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rum Island Cabin
comfy full size pillow top bed kitchenette on left, bathroom/shower on right
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Rum Island Cabin
comfy full size pillow top bed
kitchenette on left, bathroom/shower on right
screened porch: relax, view turkey, deer, armadillo, turtles, birds...
Relax. barbecue in your private, peaceful surroundings.
small springs 100 feet from gate
path to river/springs from cabin
cypress knees at river edge
Rum Island Cabin
Manatee at Ichenetucknee
River reflections
Great white heron on the river
peaceful kayaking
campfire at night
little springs at night
sunrise at little springs
sunrise on river
barbque, picnic, relax on hammock, have a campfire in your own private area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort White, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sandlappe...
Laurens, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great, Private, Restful, Canoeing Getaway”
Reviewed December 16, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I just returned home from a wonderful three-day, two-night vacation. The Rum Island Cabin was perfect for canoeing the numerous springs on the Santa Fe River. The cabin was exceptional in all respects and provided a very relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. Dave and MaryAnn were super hosts. Everything we could possibly need was provided. The surroundings were well-maintained and the weather was perfect. It was a true joy to experience the area from this setting

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple, relaxing weekend getaway!”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Run Island Cabin was a great weekend getaway! From start to finish the entire experience was more than satisfactory. After booking MaryAnn and Dave sent several informative documents to plan for the trip. Upon arrival, they were friendly and welcoming. The cabin was beautiful and equipped with everything you could need for a simple weekend in the woods. The cabin sits among the trees and the surrounding area is peaceful. I especially enjoyed the hammock in the evenings. We took our kayaks and were pleased with the short walk along the path to the river. Just a brief paddle downstream and we found ourselves at gorgeous Blue Springs. There wasn't anything more we could have asked for, but had we needed anything MaryAnn and Dave made it clear they were there to help. We definitely plan to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse Z
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely gorgeous and amazing”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The most friendly people you'll ever meet. Beautiful cabin. If you're scared of the dark and being in the woods pick something else though.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m00nlight...
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet and Relaxing”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A quiet and relaxing place in the woods with a small spring 100 yards down a trail. MaryAnn and Dave were great. They went over and above what I expected. The area where the cabin is was well maintained and pretty large. There was a nice fire pit that was already full of kindling when we got there. There was firewood to be had. It was very tranquil. I needed some hiking and swimming and there were lots of springs nearby. My boyfriend needed rest and relaxation and he was able to just hang out at the cabin and take a dip in the spring while I went about my little adventures.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sound of the crickets.
Liked least: Sometimes I got a whiff of the septic tank.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2015redbi...
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are two retired seniors who stayed 5 days at the Rum Island Cabin and loved every minute. The cabin is cozy and quiet , located in the woods , but only a short walk to the Santa Fe River and Mermaid Springs. On several days we took a hike through the woods to Rum Island Park to enjoy a refreshing swim in the river. Some highlights were eating breakfast on the screened porch every morning watching hummingbirds at the feeder, rented kayaks ( for the very first time) and paddled 4 miles down the Santa Fe River, tubing at Ichetucknee Springs, antiquing in High Springs, eating smores over a bonfire, seeing a doe and two fawns running in the woods. Kayak rental at RUM 138 , High Springs and a Winn Dixie were all a short drive away. MaryAnn and Dave the owners, were more than helpful with all of our needs. We are planning a return visit and would recommend this cabin to anyone who appreciates nature and is looking for a really fun yet peaceful and serene experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAshmore1...
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful atmosphere...”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great time at the cabin! Each morning we woke up and had coffee on the front porch while watching humming birds feed. A few times we had glimpses of small deer near the premises. The cabin was tidy, the surrounding grounds were well shaded and the Santa Fe River was just a few steps down the path. Thank you Dave and mary Ann for being gracious hosts, we had a wonderful vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The screened in front porch.
Liked least: The refrigerator was small.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peacefull”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place was so peaceful, quite, and beautiful! We enjoyed a very relaxing time here. The Cabin was great. If you are looking for something private this is the place. It was also nice to be able to have a campfire at night. It is also close to everything. Mary Ann and Dave could not have been more accommodating. We will be back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing