We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, we went on a off night for the service”
Review of AJ's Oyster Shanty

AJ's Oyster Shanty
Price range: $9 - $95
Description: With over 30 years of being one of Destin's favorites, we wanted to bring AJ's to Okaloosa Island. Offering a wide variety of fresh seafood, cool libations, and live music...we sure do hope you swing by and let us know what you think!
Restaurant details
Description: With over 30 years of being one of Destin's favorites, we wanted to bring AJ's to Okaloosa Island. Offering a wide variety of fresh seafood, cool libations, and live music...we sure do hope you swing by and let us know what you think!
Reviewed October 10, 2018

The food was good. There were only 2 servers there for the night and they turned people away bc there was no one there to serve. It was fall break and the hotels were at full capacity. The manager should have seen this coming. It took an hour for our food, but the server was awesome and kept getting us refills and brought us crackers.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sterlingfarm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 293 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

The dinner special was disappointingly small, the fried fish was good, and the burger was good. Atmosphere is ok, a little loud.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jenaarlaging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

So to start with, 'Erin' is impeccable when it comes to knowing how to care for her customers! we decided to try the restaurant as a recommendation from our Hotel to find they should have put 5 stars in front of them. Highly recommend the oyster sampler as they were absolutely great. The seafood 'sampler' was more food than one person can eat and the special of the evening which was a blackened Mahi Oscar was not only stunning in presentation but very flavorful! I highly recommend this place whether you are dining locally or from out of town. The 'happy hour' cocktails did not fall short either which is always a risk but truly can't complain about a thing. While the outside patio area is inviting and even boasts a band, we stuck to the inside where it was a bit quieter and cooler. Noone missed an opportunity to ensure our meal and experience was worth while including the manager who made sure to stop by and held a smile of pride for his team.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Love this place....always our first night, and our last.. great food and drinks....there is always music too....

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Allentown60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Arrived at Waterscape condo today just in time for dinner, so we just walked across the street to AJ's oyster shanty. Everything was great! Service was friendly and prompt. Everyone's good was excellent. Two of us had baked oysters, and they were top notch...both the Rockefeller and crabby.
Fried platter was also good. $3.50 landshark tall boys didn't hurt, either.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Oyster Shanty also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to AJ's Oyster Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing