We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Visit”
Review of AJ's Oyster Shanty

AJ's Oyster Shanty
Price range: $9 - $95
Description: With over 30 years of being one of Destin's favorites, we wanted to bring AJ's to Okaloosa Island. Offering a wide variety of fresh seafood, cool libations, and live music...we sure do hope you swing by and let us know what you think!
Restaurant details
Description: With over 30 years of being one of Destin's favorites, we wanted to bring AJ's to Okaloosa Island. Offering a wide variety of fresh seafood, cool libations, and live music...we sure do hope you swing by and let us know what you think!
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Visited twice during our trip. Food was very good and prices are reasonable. Nice atmosphere with indoor and outdoor seating and live music outside on some nights. I door music is great too. Staff was hit or miss - some were very friendly and welcoming, and others seemed unfriendly & made us feel like a bother for being there. However, we went for the food. We had oysters, smoked tuna dip, seafood gumbo, and the basket with mixed fried seafood and everything was delicious!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 293 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2018

This place was amazing!! you can sit outside or in, the decor is awesome you can't stop looking at all the things they have. Totally recommend this place

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sorr826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2018

excellent seafood platter; oysters and fried grouper were particularly outstanding. service was very good and very quick for Sunday at lunch.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Lauri1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

Rushed here to get Happy Hour price according to my watch had 2 minutes before 6, but AJ computer said 6

So I settled for a Gin and Tonic and Fried Oyster basket cooked nicely not overcooked like the Shack.

Friendly and Efficient waitress. Will return my condo nearby.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

I ordered the peel n eat shrimp. Very bad choice. Shrimp were overcooked and appeared to have been frozen and just thawed for my order. Sent them back and the next order was exactly the same. My husband ordered the stuffed shrimp and they were just as underwhelming.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank GoingtoRome21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AJ's Oyster Shanty also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to AJ's Oyster Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing