We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Misleading & rude service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayo grande Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cayo grande Suites Hotel
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Misleading & rude service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed three nights this past weekend. When we arrived, the woman behind the counter wasn't very friendly, and they charged me $50.00, in case something was broken, but later put it back in my acct. There was nothing about that money when I booked the room, and we were short for our trip. The website made this place look great, but it wasn't. We had to stay on the other side of the road, which was being worked on. When you walked into the building the trash was overflowing and the carpets were disgusting. The trash nor carpets were cleaned the entire time we were there. The room was okay, but you had to walk through filth to get to it. This place falls under the false advertisement category, and I won't be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayleylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin I, General Manager at Cayo grande Suites Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Kayleylee,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your visit. A mandatory $50 hold is placed on a credit card upon check-in for every reservation at our hotel. The funds are released upon check-out pending no damages/incidental fees were found upon room inspection.

It's feedback like yours that makes us try to correct anything we may have overlooked for future geusts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
1
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked this place one week before our stay. They were very friendly and informative when taking our reservation. We arrived 3 hours earlier than check in. The front desk allowed us to check in early. The housekeepers were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was free and hot. I just wish they had a waffle maker and a larger fruit selection. Rooms were clean and spacious. I would stay again in the future. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsToniT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin I, General Manager at Cayo grande Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Toni,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about your stay with us! I just wanted to let you know we heard your suggestions on adding additional fresh fruit into our breakfast offerings and will be doing just that starting next week! Fresh cut fruit will be an additional item on our breakfast bar!

Thank you again for staying with us,

Kristin Iversen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the hotel on july 5, 2013 and check was very easy, no wait i stayed in the Junior suite with separte bedroom with very comfortable bed, a living room with flat screen tv, and kicthen with mircowave, fridge and sink, bathroom with large jaccuzi. the hotel was nice and breakfast buffett was wonderful. will most likely stay again when in the area.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for the room on the side as the breakfast buffett. some other guest were located a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristin I, General Manager at Cayo grande Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Angel,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our hotel! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to sample some of the items from our complimentary breakfast. Please let us know if you will be traveling to the area again.

Kindly,
Kristin Iversen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Fort Walton Beach-Eglin AFB
TownePlace Suites Fort Walton Be...
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marina Bay Resort
Marina Bay Resort
#10 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
4.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayo grande Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayo grande Suites Hotel

Property: Cayo grande Suites Hotel
Address: 214 Racetrack Rd NW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32547-3831
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cayo grande Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cayo grande Corporate Lodging will be offering bi-weekly extended stay to monthly and yearly furnished and unfurnished units with utilities included. We offer the perfect blend of hospitality and professional service, coupled with spacious comfy suites at affordable extended stay rates. Located in city central Ft. Walton Beach, Cayo grande is conveniently near Okaloosa Regional Airport, Eglin Air Force Base, Hurlburt Field, many area attractions and is just a ten minute drive to beaches of Florida's Emerald Coast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayo Grande Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing