We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were hesitant about this stay because of some of the reviews I had read, but went with it and were glad we did. Our rooms were very nice as was the hotel staff. We originally were on first floor but quickly asked to change to second floor and they accomodated us in minutes. We liked 2 pools and other facilities offered by hotel. We definitely are planning to book there next year but with request to be on 4th floor :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,566 - 1,572 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed in the "Penthouse" but this is not penthouse quality. First the beds are outdated and hard as the floor. I woke up with a bad shoulder pain! The full size kitchen, was small and falling apart. The bathrooms wow tight squeeze, falling apart, and out dated. The hallways and elevators tight falling apart. The best part was the view and service but boy it really needs TLC.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattigaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Pattigaura,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the condition of your room. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Rooms are old and dingy. Gulf front room was on 3rd floor and crappy view of ocean. Needs updated. Had to ask for towels, maids never came to room unless I called front desk. Put towels outside door, maids took and never brought new??? Shower leaked out on floor. Would never stay again, definitely not worth the price. Front desk friendly, but needs updated

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Missy H,

Thank you for the review of your stay. We are sorry to hear our staff services did not meet your expectations. We will review with the staff to avoid similar situations in the future. Please accept my apology on this issue. We hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I recently stayed at this Holiday Inn for three nights and was disappointed starting with my checkin. I am a Priority Club Platinum member I was expecting to be upgraded to one of the better located rooms but was given a studio with a partial ocean view with a balcony in Building B that was blocked in part by another building. I inquired at my checkin if would it be possible to be upgraded to an oceanfront suite or I would be willing to pay additional and an employee named Danny said rudely that I was already being upgraded. The studio room was small for two people, bathroom the size of a closet, loud refrigerator and the outside A/C unit located four floors down was howling through the door. The outside A/C unit was so loud that we could not sleep. The next morning I called the front desk and spoke to the manager Danielle and she upgraded me to an oceanfront suite in another building. We found this room to be nice, great oceanfront location with a nice balcony. The large outside A/C unit located six floors down for this building was still loud and could be heard in this room but at least it was tolerable. The inside room A/C unit cannot be adjusted up so you either have to keep it on at the preset temp or turn it off. When I checked out, the front desk person could not of been more unprofessional. No thank you, no smile.

The positives of this motel are the location on the beach, the restaurant and bar. Free beach chairs and umbrellas are a nice touch and so are the unlimited free DVD movies. They also have 2 nice pools which are out of the wind for the most part. The negatives are some rude and unprofessional front desk personnel, bad recognition of Priority Club member's status, loud outside A/C units, preset room A/C controller, maintenance issues and very slow elevators. As a person who travels a lot and who is also a member of Marriott's rewards program, I am use to automatic upgrades to suites on every stay. If you are going to stay at this Holiday Inn, I would recommend asking for a room that is located far away from the huge outside A/C units in front of each motel building. These units are extremely loud and will be heard in your room non-stop. On a scale from 1 to 10, ten being highest, I would rate this property a 6.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean have less outside A/C unit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Jim N,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum member and for leaving us a feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the air conditioning and staff issues you experienced. We understand the discomfort this caused you. Rest assured that these concerns will be looked into. Again, we do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at this motel in August 2013 and it is the noisiest motel we have ever stayed in. The Holiday Inn is old but well kept and has large A/C units on the ground in front of each of the motel buildings surrounded by walls to obviously try to muffle the sound. The problem is the sound from these huge units travels straight up and reverberates into the rooms sounding like a constant wind storm. We had a oceanfront suite on the 6th floor and the sound just echoed down the hallway making sleeping near impossible. I can't imagine how loud the sound would be in the rooms near Santa Rosa Blvd. would be. I now know why they gave you unlimited free movie rentals, to give you something to do while you cannot sleep. We would never stay there again even if the rooms were free.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the ocean as far as you can away from the sound of the huge A/C units on the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WearySandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear WearySandy,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the inconvenience the noise issues you have encountered during your stay with us may have caused. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is directly on the beach and has plenty of chairs and umbrellas. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a free DVD (similar to REDBOX) everyday which was great for down time. Didn't use the restaurant on site....lots of places to explore that are not too far, Helen Back cafe is on Okaloosa Island (great pizza). We chose this hotel because it is about 10-15 minutes from Hurlburt Field and about 20 minutes to Destin. The housekeeping is a little late in the day for my taste....but they were always pleasant and accommodating! I would stay there again!

Room Tip: The higher your floor the better the view....we were on the 5th floor and had a corner room. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jljcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2015

Thank you for staying with us. The good will only get better. We are committed to exceed your expectations time and time again. Please come back and see us soon!

Warm Regards,

Evelyn B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very nice beach location. Rooms were nice but lots of maintenance issues such as drawers falling out of cabinets, torn shower curtain, and sharp weather stripping sticking from doorway. Two rooms had problems with tubs leaking water into bathroom or bedroom when shower is used.Told desk clerk, who did not seem to care. Also, no response from Holiday Inn customer service and did not get a customer satisfaction survey.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikePsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear MikePsy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with us. Our goal is deliver exceptional service to all of our guest. I am sorry that not everything measured up to your expectations particularly with the maintenance service and amenities encountered. I can assure you that these issues will be addressed. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#3 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
628 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#1 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#10 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#7 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#6 of 30 in Fort Walton Beach
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $91 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for Fort Walton Beach Hotels Near Destin, Florida? You've found your home at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Hotel. Escape to a place on Florida's beautiful Emerald Coast that overlooks swaying palms, turquoise waters and white sand beaches at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach. Exceptional among hotels and resorts in the area, we offer well-appointed accommodations, a variety of amenities, and friendly, attentive service to make your stay a pleasure. Whether you're in town for a family vacation, romantic getaway or are here on business, Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Hotel has everything you could want in a beach front hotel or resort. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Florida for families that’s affordable and close to many of the most popular attractions to the state, consider the Emerald Coast. Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Hotel is here to serve you and is accepting bookings constantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach - Destin FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing