We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent a couple of nights while traveling the panhandle and while it was not top notch is was not bad. There are some maintenance issues. Balcony doors are worn for example and the A/C unit was an apparent upgrade but doesn't fit the old housing. Not a major deal breaker but food for thought. Housekeeping seemed a bit haphazard as well with some dishes being left and others taken. Not a real big deal but not consistent. The 2 pools were nice but we would have liked to have one adult and one child pool. The kids seemed to enjoy running back and forth between the 2 which could be a little noisy at times. The beach is a big plus. They set up an umbrella and 2 chairs for you and, if there's none available, they'll set up more. It was a great system. We didn't eat there but did stop for an after dinner cocktail one night. I realize the hotel caters to mostly families with children but really, the lounge was like sitting at a Denny's for breakfast. No attempt at atmosphere. Again, this is probably not the demographic they're aiming for so not a priority for them. Given the minor shortcomings noted I felt the price was more of a premium than perhaps it deserved. OK place but I might shop around more if I were extending my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snugdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Snugdad,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us.

I am sorry to hear the troubles you had during your stay. I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings you had in your room and the inconvenience our service level has caused you. Additionally, we regret the poor experience you had in our bar area.

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,559 - 1,565 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

WHAT A WASTE of money!! we spent about $220 per night over Memorial Day weekend, and we might as well have thrown it in the trash! Our bed-- labeled a queen but appearing to be a full-- sagged so heavily in the middle my husband and I both ended up piled in the middle. The mattress was hard as a rock and so were the itty bitty pillows, even the pillows labeled "soft." I barely slept at all, and I can sleep on almost anything. Strangely, the bed was so close to the air conditioner that when the AC came on I couldn't feel my frozen nose! It felt like 40 degree air. And there were no alternative settings-- either keep the AC off and suffer in the dank, humid room... or freeze your face off. Also, our room was tiny and poorly designed and furnished. Since we were stuck in a handicapped-accessible room, the bathroom took up most of our space, leaving us cramped. Inside the bathroom, there was NO COUNTER OR SHELF SPACE AT ALL, only a sink sloped so much on the sides even a toothbrush would slide in. I had to keep my toiletries on the floor and dry the sink out before setting my curling iron there to style my hair. While this hotel is decently clean and on a pretty stretch of beach, I will NEVER return! It was extremely uncomfortable, tiny, overpriced and a hassle!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephiebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear our valued Guest;

We thank you for taking your time to share your stay experiences with us and others. we apologize for not having been able you to book a regular room as we were sold out during the Memorial' s Day weekend. On the other hand. we want to share with you that , based on our research, we have found no complaint regarding our accessible room mattress since your departure. Nonetheless, your feedback is well considered toward the continued improvement of our product. We appreciate your business and time.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This place was awesome. I loved the staff, especially this super sweet guy at the front desk named Danny. I had the studio room and it was awesome! Full size fridge, sink, and stove made my stay very convenient. The beach was clean and beautiful. Everything was great. Other guests seemed very happy around me. Oh, they had amazing piña coladas!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzerbear28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were very pleased with our recent stay at the Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach. The staff was outstanding especially the man that checked us in as well as the bartenders at the Tiki bar. The resort was clean and kept up.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The hotel is very clean. Check in was fast and told us everything we needed to know about the hotel. Very friendly never met one person that didn't treat us well. The bartender at the Tiki Bar went over and beyond GREAT service and funny also. We ate in the restaurant which was excellent, try the fish tacos if available they were the best I have had in a long time. Never had a problem getting a beach umbrella and we didn't get down there until 9-10 every morning. Very nice beach hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodib05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We only got to stay in FWB one night, and we had a great experience at this hotel. Upon checking in, Danny was very friendly and helpful at the front desk and we got a great room. I normally don't remember names, but I remember his because he was so kind. It is an older hotel, but was clean and comfy. We had been traveling through several states over the last 6 days, and this was a great, relaxing end to the trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is okay needs updating at the very least new Mattresses. Staff is friendly with some TLC it will be a great place to stay. In the fiture I will check into other hotels before diciding to stay here. I would imagine you can get something a little better for the price. In the future we will be looking to see if they do any updating.

Room Tip: If you want to see the Gulf water get to floor higher than 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Abby D,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, apologize for any inconvenience the hotel conditions may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
624 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,365 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#10 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
971 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#8 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
151 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#6 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $78 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing