We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Another Platinum member here and like the other reviewer stated, absolutely nothing to acknowledge the fact. No water, no snack, no free breakfast, nada. Couldn't get a King bed and had to settle for doubles. Beds were hard as a rock which is typical of many Holiday Inns. Room was very clean though. The property just needs updating badly and not enough parking. Already have our next trip planned for July so we're going to try the Sheraton.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear smileytrips,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. As an IHG Rewards Platinum Elite member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brand and Hotel. I am pleased that you noticed the cleanliness of the room. On the other hand, please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered over the bed the condition of the property. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests as your comments will also be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,548 - 1,554 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

I could had stayed anywhere on the beach but as a Platinum Member gave the Holiday Inn Resort a try. As I checked in the front desk, not only did I give them my Platinum member card but they did not even say a simple "thanks" for being a member. Staying at several Holiday Inns the least I would have got was a bottle water but not here. This was my first time in a HI resort and I was not too pleased with my reception. I thought I would get special perks for free breakfasts or drinks, but nothing. I went to the 6th floor that didn't have a ocean view but it was okay. The rooms were very outdated the best thing about the rooms were the bed so comfortable and nice clean sheets. Had a fridge and microwave. I stayed in the king bed room. Nonetheless, I spent most of my hours before work on the beach. It was heaven. I have been to many beaches across the world and so far the emerald coast/Destin beaches are beautiful. Sugar white sand so bright that you have to wear sunglasses to see your feet. Poor priority club member perks and recognition/ outdated rooms but its on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAMERV20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear mervin t,

Thank your for being a Platinum member and thank your for your review of our property.

Our staff pay special attention to our Platinum members and I deeply regret that we were not able to provide you the typical high level of service and recognition that you deserve. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you and for the dissatisfaction you had with our rooms.

Thank you for your business and your patronage to our brand and hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back as one of our Platinum members and allow us to redeem your faith in our award winning service.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The room was clean with a balcony overlooking the pool. Beach access was right out the door. A decent stay but still a beach hotel.Ft. Walton is a growing town and traffic is heavy, The hotel was hard to find even with GPS

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hotel was good, free beach chair and umbrellas were a great. The free movies were nice although the choices were slim the time we were visiting. The beach was never crowded, the last two days we visited they weren't allowing umbrellas to be up due to high winds, while adjacent resorts had their umbrellas up. The last days is when you're usually sunburnt and need the shade, so we had to get creative with our time. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are priced higher but the view is fantastic and it makes a great place to dry towels a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WJLTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I am so angry that I wasted time booking a Penthouse Suite at this hotel!! They failed to honor my request for a king bed, despite being a Platinum in their useless program. Worse yet, the room was FILTHY and in a poor state of repair. The pictures at their website do NOT reflect the reality of the rooms. I would urge folks to avoid at all cost! This platinum member will never return!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FreqTravDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Dear our valued priority club member;

First, we would like to thank you for having chosen to stay with us despite all the other choices, which you had. On the other hand, we would like to apologize for not having been able to accommodate you according to the room type request as indicated. Nonethless, it appears that you did not book the penthouse because it has two bedrooms: one with a king size bed, the other one with two double beds. Also, it has two bathrooms. Our ultimate goal is to provide clean and comfortable rooms associated with ongoing superior guest service to all our guests. Regardless of the confusion, we will further investigate your issues to ensure that we do not repeat this faux pas. As a platinum member, your loyalty to the brand is valuable to us. So, is your feedback. We will utilize your comments as a training tool in our daily efforts toward the continued improvement of our products and services. Once again, we thank you for your business and feedback.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love this hotel- been coming here every year since 2010. First, this hotel is located ON THE BEACH!! You are just a few steps away from the Emerald Coast. Second, the hotel provides (free of charge) two lounge chairs and umbrealla per room. This is a heaven sent perk-- most other hotels charge around 8 dollars per chair- per day. They have two pools as well- one for kids, and one for adults (also have a hot tub). On the beach, there is a volleyball net, and there is a kayak that you can take out as well. Also, they have free movie rentals- which we loved. It was a great break from the heat of the day- - came upstairs ate lunch and watched a movie- then we went back to the beach! We stayed on the fifth floor, and had a beautiful view of the ocean. Most of our time was spent on the beach and realxing. Our tv broke, and a quick call to mainteance, and they were in our room in less than 3 minutes. We had a brand new tv in about 15 minutes. These guys were great and very professional! Our room had a mini fridge which we used a lot! We went to the local grocery store (Winn Dixie) and bought stuff to make sandwhcihes, etc. Bathroom was big, and the beds were so comfortable! Book the hotel now, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MelissaY858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2016

Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Check in was very fast and friendly. When we arrived, the hotel elevators were out of service until the following day and we had a ton of luggage. Immediately, hotel staff members readily approached us and carried our luggage up the stairs to our room. They were very polite and friendly.

The rooms aren't fancy as many have stated but they are very comfortable and CLEAN. (Who needs fancy when you're at the beach anyway? Unless you plan on staying in your room alot.) Our room had a safe, microwave, and mini fridge overlooking one of the pools and the beach. The balcony was very nice and roomy also. If you want a view, I recommend the 3rd floor and above.

We took advantage of the 2 free beach chairs and umbrella that are free with each room. Beach attendants set these up daily for you. We stayed here with another couple and took our personal beach chairs with us as well. The beach is very nice and clean and I would recommend it for families with children also. There wasn't any chaos or obnoxious drunks like you see at so many other beach locations.

Hotel Restaurant: AVOID! Organized chaos! We thought we would grab a quick breakfast and just head on to the beach afterwards. If the restaurant had been busy, I could have understood the poor service a little better. After being seated, we were asked did we want the buffet or menu. We chose the menu since the buffet was merely a glorified continental breakfast that isn't free. The waitress brought our beverages and menus, we never seen her again! We finally just got up and got a plate from the buffet instead. We finished our breakfast and still no waitress or anyone checked on us. We got up to ask for our check and immediately our (lost) waitress says, "Thank you, have a nice day." So basically, we could have walked right out and never paid..... We paid our ticket and left. It was a chaotic scene with the restaurant staff running around as if they were in a tizzy and overwhelmed with customers......yet, they weren't!! It is in serious need of proper management. But, there's plenty of restaurants in the area, we just mistakenly thought this would be convenient.

Our overall experience at this hotel was great and we will definitely return. It has alot of restaurants in the area and just a few minutes drive to Destin as well. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2016

Greetings Reviewer,

Thank you kindly for your feedback! It has certainly been a few years since your visit. We are now the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Hotel. Throughout the years we have transformed into one of the favorite resorts in Fort Walton Beach. Under our new flag, we invite you back into the Wyndham Garden, to create a memory that will last for many generations to come.

Sincerely,

Evelyn B.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,335 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#10 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
971 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#8 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $107 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing