We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach, Florida”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The suite was wonderful. We had full view of the beach and a very short walk down to reach the sand and Gulf. We had peaceful walks along the Gulf every evening. The pools are centrally located and warm. There are activities most nights for kids and families. Internet is slow, as it is most other hotels. Luckily, we didn't need to spend much time on the computer. The lock on the front door needs to be replaced. We needed to "jiggle" the key several times for the lock to recognize it.
We had breakfast in the cafe one morning. Excellent buffet. The rest of the time we ate out in Ft Walton Beach and Panama City Beach.

Room Tip: North side rooms have views of the Gulf
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masseyfj5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear our valued guest;

First, we would like to thank you for the business. We also want to thank you for taking time away from your daily agenda to share with others the experience, which you had at our property. Furthermore, we are delighted to know that you enjoyed staying in one of our renovated suites. On the other hand, we would like you to be aware that our IT professional is actually working on repairing the internet access and the door lock issues. Your feedback is a great tool toward the improvement of our products and services..We appreciate every minute of your time. Again, thanks!

We are lookking forward to seeing you again.


Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,796)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,605 - 1,611 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

We arrived early, yet the staff allowed us to check in 1.5 hours in advance of the scheduled time. The people at the desk were warm and courteous and gracious, and seemed genuinely concerned with how we perceived our accomodations. We went into the 6th floor suite and were totally amazed at the quality of the room. We entered into a long hallway (what hotel has rooms so big they have 12 foot entrance hallways?), and found a large, spacious suite with separate bedroom, bath, kitchen, dining room and living room. The patio opened on to the gulf, with an incredible view.
It looks like the entire room was brand-new - everything, from the paint, the bathroom sink/fixtures, the appliances, TV's (yes, two big flat-screen HDTVs - one in the bedrooom, one in the living room) - were all new.
The maid service was exceptional, asking us if we needed anything a couple of times per day when they saw us coming into the room (once, they gave us more towels, and another, more shampoo as we left ours at home).
The pools (two of them) were beautiful, and it was also nice being provided two great lounge chairs and an umbrella at the beach by the dedicated hotel beach attendants. Beautiful clean beach, and just like the ad says, clear emerald waters...
The tiki bar next to the pool served great drinks and excellent food.
Nice surprise was the free fresh popcorn available in the lobby.
All around a fantastic experience. We stayed at the HI Resort at Panama City last time but it was booked this trip, so I was a little worried since the PC trip was so excellent, but was amazed to see we got the same level of excellence at both HI resorts.
Well done. I will be coming back, again, and again, with my family.
Only negative: wifi access was poor (but I used my phone and made it a hotspot so it had no effect on us, really.)

Room Tip: Beach side rooms for sure.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear Mr. Tom B;

We are pleased to know that your family stayed in one of our renovated suites. Your feedback is a great testimony of the work we have done in these rooms over the last three months. Your inspired words are very invaluable to us. We would like to thank you for having taken time away from your daily schedule to write such a review about our updated rooms, our staff service, and all amenities and features, which our property has to offer. On the other hand, we want you to know that we are adding more access points to ease the internet access. During your nextt visit, you will have a better experience with the internet. Above all, we are glad to have exceeded your expecatations. We are also delighted to know that your family and you plan to visit us again.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.


Sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was very impressed and pleased with the great hospitality the staff gave us during our stay last weekend. This was my first trip to FWB. The service was great and we could not have asked for a better location the hotel was in - walking out of your room onto the beach; not only that but I was impressed with the recreations (table tennise, basketball and swimming pool) they had for children to enjoy which I thought was a plus. As I am an early riser I was able to watch the beach staff set up the chairs and table which they did a great job making sure that guest was accomodated early in the morning if they chose to sit out on the beach. I do not say this without much thought, because I stay at the best hotels Ritz Carlton, J.W. Marriott, etc., but sometimes you don't get the personal touch (friendly atmosphere) at those hotels and the staff at Holiday Inn Resort FWB provided us with a very friendly and warm atmosphere. I would definitely recommend them and stay there again. Thank you for great service Holiday Inn Resort FWB staff! Kudos!

Room Tip: Choosing a good room can be challenging if like me you like the very best of things many times the w...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Dear Ms. Diane!

We would like to thank you not for having chosen to stay with us but also for having taken your precious time away from your normal day to write such an encouraging review about your experiences with us.. Your feeback tells us that our efforts to improve daily our service and product are being noticed. We are delighted to know our staff service, amenities and features exceed your expectations. Also, we were honored to be your host. Thanks again!

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This hotel has a great location right on the white sand beaches of Fort Walton. Not a ton of things to do in the immediate vicinity as far as night life goes. The hotel is surrounded by wall to wall hotels. The wifi is absolutely horrendous. If you can even connect to it, expect to spend a looong time trying to get done whatever it is you need to be done. Even tried connecting to the ethernet hardline internet...didn't work at all. So as long as you don't need to access the internet on your stay in FT. Walton...the Holiday Inn is a decent hotel right on the water.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Looskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear our valued guest;
We would like to thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us and other prospective guests. It helps us understand our strengths and weaknesses. It is well considered as an opportunity to improve our weak areas. We want to apologize for the trouble, which you had with the WiFi You are right! Our property is built in blocks. While our WIFI has a great speed, the access may be weak. As of now, we are going to install more access points to make it easier to have internet access. Again, thanks!

We hope to see again, so you can have a better experience with the WiFi.


Best regards;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Management and Staff made you feel welcomed the moment you walk in the door. There was not a time whenever I was not warmly greeted by a staff member. The hotel is located right on a wonderful and beautiful beach. There were staff everywhere working and they were very friendly. The hotel was clean and kept up well. I truly enjoyed my stay and would return again. I enjoyed having the chair and umbrella provided on the beach as well as the Daily DVD rental that was provided as a service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear Mr David;

We really appreciate that you took time to share with others the everlasting experience, which you had with our property. Also, we would like to thank you for your business and your positive feedback. Your comments show how important it is to continue to deliver superior service and product to all of our guests, so they can be satisfied just like you are. We are glad to be your host, and that you enjoyed the amenities we have to offer. Thanks again!

We are looking forward to seeing you gain.

Sincerely;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a very nice view of the gulf. It was very loud outside all evening even at 9 pm. The rooms were run down and looked like the 1980's. The rooms do not look like their pictures. It was very overpriced for the the room, carpet was nasty and gritty . The halls were very hot and felt just nasty. If I were you and wanting to stay at this hotel I think I would like to look at the room first. I would not have stayed there if I had see it first. We could not cancel because we booked on priceline.
David N.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Dear David N,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for reviewing our property. I'm delighted you enjoyed your room with a view of the gulf. I'm sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your room conditions. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Went here last year and the place was great! My daughter had a fantastic time on the beach and the pool areas were nice.
The room was spacious and we loved the kitchen and nice sized living room with dining room.
I think it's a great place to travel and stay with a family on a budget! We had a beautiful room that faced the ocean and my daughter loved the free DVD rentals they offered nightly.

We stayed last July 2011.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the ocean, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpanishGal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2012

Dear our valued guest;

We thank you for taking time to share with others the great experience, which your family and you had with our hotel. We are delighted to know that all of you enjoyed the property features, and the amenities that it has to offer. We are very appreciative of your statements.
Your feedback is very motivating and invaluable to us.

We are looking forward to seeing you again, so you can have more fun with the family.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#6 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $117 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing