We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Could Have Been Better"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Could Have Been Better"”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We also used our Starwood points for our vacation. This was our first visit to Fort Walton/Destin. First I do have to say we got lucky and had beach front room. The room was o.k., being a affialated with a Sheraton didn't seem to look like one. It was easy to get to the beach and get to both of the pool's. They did have a shower to wash off the sand. The bar by the beach did close early by 7p.m.(what's the point to have a bar by the beach when you can't enjoy being outside having a drink). They did have a restaurant/bar inside which did not have any drink special's. I did enjoy the breakfast buffet but I thought it was a little overprice for me especially when you are feeding a big family. They staff seemed somewhat friendly. They cleaning service was not up to standards. The sad thing was we were unable to enjoy the beach to much do to the seaweed problem they had due to the rain they were getting.( You have to blame mother nature on that.) The sand was pretty and soft. They do have a exercise room which was nice. Also they did have a Pirate to come out to perform a magic show for the kids which was fun. Overall it was o.k.,might give it a second chance in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I have seen several comments about the seaweed and we did have more this year than usual. Unfortunately, all of the hotels and condos along the gulf had the same problem. We make sure there is always a restaurant open on property but we do close the tiki bar as it gets close to dark. Our bar and restaurant inside stays open until 11pm though. I hope you will come back and give us another try so you can see the beautiful water. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    310
    130
    62
    52
See reviews for
311
259
48
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
east texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we stated here due to last minute schedule and Destin ocean views room where all gone .. it is much quieter than Destin but much older facility , been renovated and being so now .. would not stay again only to stay in Destin ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jl-jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. During our off season we are making some great improvements to the hotel so I hope you will come back and give us another try next year. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel was chosen solely on the facy that I could cash in Starwood points to stay free. So not worth 10,000 points!
I agree with most of the commentary about it being a motel, not a hotel. The staff was not up to Starwood standards. For example, while at the front desk checking in, the clerk took a call for 5 minutes while I continued to stand there, mid check-in. I ended up asking someone else to check me in.

Here's my pros and cons.
Pros:
The sand was pretty white. My son said it reminded him of sugar cookie dough.
It's an easy and quick walk to the beach.
Both sides of the property are not inhabited (one side a peir, one side a Holiday Inn under construction). This means the beach is not as crowded as further west.
There is more than one pool, more than one bar and more than one place to rinse off the sand.
They offer beach food service with a wait staff.
Cons:
The staff not up to standards.
The sea weed in the water made the beach intollerable.
The beach side restaurant/bar says open 11am until. Not true. The restaurant closes at 6 and the bar at 7. Actually, a few minutes before.
The pool towel service was nice but not open at the times I needed them. You have to go all the way back to the front desk to return them so you don't get charged $20 per towel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rktraveler2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your thorough review. We did have some seaweed this year that lasted longer than usual. Kiwis, our beach tiki bar and grill is posted as open from 11am til........During the summer season we always keep it open until 7pm but we shorten those hours in the off season. I have passed on your comments to our managers to they can work to improve their areas. Thank you again for the review. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Staying at four points right now. Wanted to say thanks to Jenn at the front desk. Warmest welcome I have ever received at a hotel. She was friendly, efficient, and gave us all the info we needed. The water is warm and our view is great! Perfect for an overnight date with my wife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review. I have shared your comments with the team as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

As others have said...this is an old motel converted into a "hotel". I have stayed at other Sheraton and after this experience will think twice. Our room at the beachfront was nice, clean and quite. But the building in general is old and not kept clean. Service is below average and slow(understaffed). Front desk area is not organized. Breakfast buffet is not worth the price. Swimming pools are ok. Restaurant food is ok. Bar is ok but closes at 7:00pm. Beach is not crowded. Sand is clear and white. Beach water was black and scary. Water had algae/weed and looked/smelled like spinach soup. Was told that this was because of recent rains. Next day we went to Seaside which is about 25 miles down the road. Oh my God night and day difference. Beaches and the water at Seaside were crystal clear. Seaside town and the beaches are out of this world beautiful.

Fort Walton in general is an older area. Destin is about 10 minutes away. I will highly recommend staying in or near Seaside. What we paid for the "motel"....not worth it.

Room Tip: If you must stay here...stay in the beachfront building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the review. Our beachfront tower is one of the newer buildings in this area. All of our rooms have had recent renovations as well. As far as the seaweed/algae it can be clear in Fort Walton one day and very heavy in Seaside on that same day and vice versa the next. When the seaweed moves into the area there is no way to control where it goes and for how long. I apologize it was not more clear during your visit. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This will have made my 4th experience with this hotel. The first three were glowing and I highly recommended. However this time was so disappointing. The first night there was a water line broken by the city, but the hotel and all the restaurants in the vicinity were affected. I was hoping and expecting the staff to at least hand out water bottles or give us some kind of compensation. The water was out until 8:30 PM and I am sure many visitors returned from the beach hot and tired, not being able to shower or bath. There was absolutely no word from the office and we had to go in hour by hour to get an update. The maid staff seems to have been depleted or maybe just not trained well. She was not consistant in what she was replacing in our room. One day we had 3 towels and the next only 2 and no washclothes. The sea water was pretty bad with seaweed so most of our time we stayed at the pool. It was very nice and clean and the Tiki Bar was, of course stocked with drinks, but mostly alcholic ones and EXPENSIVE, so beware of that. I will have to say that Pam was a wonderful desk clerk and because we were early checking in, was very helpful. She was the bright star in the whole stay. I don't know whether I will stay here again. There will be a new Holiday Inn next door next summer.

Room Tip: Ask for gulf front rooms. They are the high rise building and all rooms face the gulf. The higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mema59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the review and I will pass on the positive comments regarding the front desk team. I do apologize about the county water main break and the seaweed that we had in the gulf during your stay with us. I know both were inconvenient. The county worked hard to get the water main repaired but we were still out of water for several hours. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

my girlfriend and I recently stayed at the hotel for a few days vacation at the beach. Because of where it is situated the beach is not as crowded as other places...that was really nice. To the left is the gulfarium, the okaloosa pier and boardwalk with restaurants. To the right there is a new property under construction, then condos. Looking down the beachyou can see crowds of people, but where we were it was nice quiet. it was nice to have a beach vacation without having to fight the crowds of people on the beach.

The hotel itself is really nice and not pricey given its amenities and location on the beach. The rooms are nice, the place is well kept, it had a great breakfast buffet in the morning, a bar, two outdoor pools and two outdoor hot tubs. There's also the tiki bar that has waitress service to the pools and on the beach! So you can park yourself for the day, sit back, relax, have drinks and food served to you and do whatever you like.

So if you're looking for a really nice place, a quiet beach and a nice hotel with great service this is a beautiful choice!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review! I am glad you and your girlfriend were able to enjoy the many amenities we offer here on beautiful Okaloosa Island. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
77 reviews
14.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#11 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Address: 1325 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points Destin-Fort Walton Beach is a tropical retreat on the beautiful beaches of the Emerald Coast. Friendly service and a relaxed setting in the Florida panhandle will ensure a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points By Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Sheraton Fort Walton Beach
Four Points Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Four Points
Fort Walton Beach Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing