We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This property is very average however overpriced. The rooms are clean and comfortable however the service is lacking. Front desk operations are poor and employees do not seem to enjoy their jobs. The breakfast buffet (~$10 ) was below average.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize we were not up to your expectations. We try to make our guest's experiences unique and memorable. It seems as though we did not accomplish this with your stay. We continue to make improvements to our facility and work with our team to improve our services. If you make a return visit we hope you will have a much better experience. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (964)
There are newer reviews for Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 964 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Four Points Sheraton Destin-Ft Walton Beach was a great property for my family's spring break trip. One of the best features about this hotel is that the rooms are very close to the beach - literally a 3 minute walk and you are on the beach. The beach itself was not particularly crowded, despite the fact that the hotel was clearly full. This is largely due to the fact that the Sheraton is the only hotel on the beach in this location (however, one is currently in the process of being built, so this feature will likely change in 2014). The staff was very friendly and free coffee is available in the morning for all guests in front of the restaurant. There are two pools and they were in the process of building a "splash pad" for kids, which will be a very nice addition. The rooms do need a bit of updating, however, the beds were very comfortable. We had a mini fridge in our room, which was great so that we could buy groceries and keep them cold. The hotel has a nice pirate themed kids program in the afternoon.

My only complaint about this hotel is the check-in. It was clear that the hotel was either understaffed and/or had newly trained people. The check-in time is supposed to be 3pm, however, we did not get into our room until after 4pm. This was a combination of slow moving check-in and the rooms not being ready. When we arrived in our room, the beds were not made and we had to wait another 30 minutes for the room to be fully ready. Once we were settled in the room, we had no additional problems.

Room Tip: If you want quick access to the beach, you do not want to stay in the "high rise", yes it...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeTK421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for the great review. I am glad you were able to enjoy the many amenities we have to offer. I apologize for the long wait at check-in. Our check-in time is actually 4pm, which may have been a factor in your wait. We look forward to your return. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked 24 hours in advance due to last minute changes and were able to be accommodated. At check in, staff were very knowledgeable and we were able to upgrade to a beach front room for a very reasonable cost. Rooms were great size and balcony too. Beds were comfortable, bathroom clean. Restaurant food was fair and service was friendly. Has a gift shop with many items you may have forgotten but walking distance to a fee shops and also the boardwalk area. Parking available under some of the buildings but seemed to have plenty of additional parking around the hotel. Beach stayed mostly clean and they had umbrellas out (probably for rent) but we brought our own canopy so you are allowed to set those up. They also had jet ski rentals right in front of this hotel for a moderate price but we didn't try this. Overall, hotel was a great experience. It was a little outdated in the rooms but very clean. They also were building a new kids pool area i think, and offered a few small pool locations. Breakfast buffet had the normal hot options and friendly service. Overall, very pleased!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank sohospgapeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for the great review of our hotel. I am glad we were able to accommodate your last minute vacation and get you in one of our beautiful beachfront rooms. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our check in date was June 16, 2013, after driving for 6 hours, we got there, waited for check in, went to room and the mildew odor was SO strong we asked to be moved. After a few minutes, a man came to our room to take us to the other room. On the way to our "new" room, they were doing some construction and the hallway was a MESS! Went in this other room and it was the same. The upholstery and carpet appeared to be somewhat clean but the odor was to much! Went down to the office and they told us we could move to a beach front room for $60 more per day!! NOT! So we decided to try to find somewhere else to stay. The girl who had checked us in, assured us that she had not ran our debit card because it would put a hold on our account so we gave her a credit card instead. We drove down the coast line looking for another place. Stopped in a couple places but couldn't find anything. We ended up driving back home and arrived about 2:00am. We also learned that the clerk LIED to us and did run our debit card which put a $700.00 plus hold on our account. I contacted "Starwood Hotels" and they responded with a email stating that "upper management" would contact us with in 5 business days.....again NOT! So I contacted them via Facebook. They did respond with a nice nasty email stating that they gave us 10,000.00 points which means NOTHING and that nothing else would be done in this matter. Another words, "We don't care about our customers and the trouble THEY caused so bye bye". It really surprised me and disappointed me that the Starwood company would allow this. Maybe my opinion and standards for Starwood was WAY TO HIGH! As a travel agent, I will not refer any clients to this company or associated companies.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ckinghim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

I want to apologize that you did not get to complete a stay at our property. I understand from speaking with the front desk manager that you wanted to be placed in the beachfront tower at the time of check-in but those rooms do have a higher rate so I apologize we could not do that at no charge for you at check-in. We did speak with Starwood corporate regarding your call and made sure all of your SPG points were reimbursed to your account. Unfortunately we do authorize credit cards upon check-in for the full stay so that would have occurred at check-in. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Despite the very nice staff (especially the bartender, John).... Hands down, this property is absolutely the nastiest hotel I've ever stayed in my 25+ years of leisure & business travel. Should have saw the early warning sign when we first walked into our room, and there was what appeared to be remnants of a smashed cockroach on the wall above the TV! Later that evening, we were invaded by army ants who decided they liked the room more than we did! Upon giving the kids baths that evening, my wife was further disgusted by the Rapunzel-length human hair left in the bathtub from a prior guest. If this wasn't enough, this morning I was greeted by a 3 - 3.5 inch cockroach crawling on the towels & vanity in the bathroom! This bug was so big, it clearly had been livin' large & in-charge for some time. I almost hated to put him out of MY misery, but he was too nasty to stay. Thus, he had to go. The saddest part of this whole trip, is we still have two more days until the end of our July 4th vacation. This property is far below the standards of Starwood and I would not reccomend this property to anyone until they significantly improve housekeeping, extermination, and overall cleanliness across the entire property! In sum, this proerty is gross, nasty, roach-infested, but has a great bar staff. Guess they fiquure, after a couple of good alcohol drinks, the guests won't care about the filth & roaches.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vince G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

I do want to apologize for the problems you had with your room. This is definitely not the norm for our rooms and we are taking care of all the items you reported with us. We do normally receive very high scores for cleanliness so this was very disappointing to hear. I have passed on the great comments to John at Kiwis and appreciate you taking the time to give the positive as well. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very large rooms overlooking the beach. The hotel is a little old but kept in clean good condition the staff are friendly and helpful. If your'e looking for a family friendly beach hotel this is a good one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My family and I were just here the last week of June. It's our third time visiting the hotel. We love it. The staff is great! Room was very nice. Frig, microwave, hair dryer, iron etc the beach staff was also great. no complaints love everything about it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Thanks for the great review. As a returning guest I hope you were able to see some of the great improvements we are making around the property. We look forward to hosting your fourth stay with us soon. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,323 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#6 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
726 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach

Address: 1325 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $120 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points Destin-Fort Walton Beach is a tropical retreat on the beautiful beaches of the Emerald Coast. Friendly service and a relaxed setting in the Florida panhandle will ensure a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points By Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Sheraton Fort Walton Beach
Four Points Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Four Points
Fort Walton Beach Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing