We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Minor Flaws, Overall Great Stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Southern States
Level Contributor
218 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Minor Flaws, Overall Great Stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

This place is a throwback, a mix of deco and 50s it works, it's kitchy,cute,fun. You enter the lobby and the white sand dunes make a beautiful panoramic ever changing picture. Being from this area I am used to the beaches, so I can;t give them credit for that! The location is okay, right off main drag 98, but the parking is something else. Tight squeezes, leave the parking to the pros! Only one elevator services all 6 floors, so wait times can be varied. The room had a placard that mentioned 'super cleaned' and they meant it. The rooms had white coverlets(yeah!), and although this is an older property, steps have been made to ensure cleanliness. The carpet is probably not the best idea for a beach hotel, but that is my taste. The air worked like a champ in room 215. At no time did I ever see staff lounging, they were always busy, and this place shows. They take pride in their property, and rightfully so. There is a bar on premise, the "swizzle stick" with live entertainment also and a tiki bar. The breakfast was standard feed the masses frozen fare, square eggs, mystery sausage,(although one day it was bacon!), mini bagels,cereals,oatmeal,waffles,etc. Unfortunately this was all served up by a surly attendent, making the first face you saw of the day a scowl. This was about the only negativity I saw in this place, Idid not let it ruin the memory of a beautiful property on a beautiful beach!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franklinmilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank You for your in-depth review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate all the feedback and thank you for the kind remarks regarding out team. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    351
    104
    41
    24
See reviews for
455
426
32
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

As a child of the 50's just walking into the lobby brought back so many childhood memories! This hotel has all the decor of the early 60's. Tables had the same counter design as in my family home when I was around 10. Even the rooms took you back to the bedrooms of the 60's. Only thing missing was a princess phone.
The room was comfortable & clean. Bed was very comfortable ! Great view of ocean from our room. The balcony was wet but it was from the high humidity and sweat from the AC. Another added plus was the free beach chairs & umbrella.
Our only disappointment was the narrow beach area and the water was full of floating seaweed.
Everyone at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaritaville22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank You for your lovely review. We appreciate the kind remarks and are thrilled that you had a wonderful experience with us. We look forward to you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here. We really enjoy it. The view is spectacular and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Everyone there treated you like a member of their family. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunworshiper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind remarks about our team. It was our pleasure to serve you. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

OK, I realize this is an older property but c'mon.
For the price of this place it should at least be dry!
The lobby looks old and very run down. Don't let the online photos fool you.
WHen I got to my room there was rolled up towel in front of the door which I found odd, I soon found out why.
Apparently the entire property floods when it rains.
So I guess they place rolled towels in front of the doors to try and soak up the water that runs right into your room.
The carpet is some type of outdoor carpet you would have on a patio or outside area, not inside of a hotel room.
Also the carpet is perpetually wet, and so is everything in the room. Sheets, towels your clothing, all wet.
I could tell that the bathroom had flooded more than once because the wood by the door was so rotten it was simply gone, just a big gaping hole where there was once wall.
Absolutely unacceptable condition for a beachfront property charging hundreds of dollars a night.
I did the survey they sent me and voiced my complaints on the survey, and the manager did give me my points back. That was very considerate and for that I am grateful but I still have to rate the property condition as terrible despite getting my points back.
For some reason this place is rated #1 on tripadvisor? Why?
There are only two hotels on the beach, this one and the Hampton.
My advice...if you have to stay at a hotel in Fort Walton stay at the Hampton.

Room Tip: Do Not stay here if you want a decent room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelchic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us. We do appreciate your feedback. Our sincerest apologies for your inconvenience. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked a 5-night stay and we were very pleased. It was nice being right on the beach and having chairs/umbrellas provided. The hotel breakfast had a good variety. The staff were very helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 235fayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the kind remarks. It was our pleasure to serve you. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseilles, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I returned from this hotel yesterday......I was part of a wedding party and we all stayed in this hotel during our stay.....Everyone there was AWESOME! This hotel gives you a very laid back comfortable home feeling. The decor throughout the place was beautiful.....such a beachy feel. You are located right on the beach along with a pool option.....outside tiki bar during the day and great little retro bar inside. Beds were VERY COMFORTABLE......room was super clean and the maid service was excellent. Constant beach breeze......The ocean view rooms are well worth the money!
Our bride had her wedding directly in front of hotel on the beach and everyone from the hotel watched from their rooms and were so encouraging to her. So convenient......watched them set up for wedding as we were getting dressed in rooms and just had to walk right on out to the wedding.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us. It was truly our pleasure to have your group here. We so enjoyed all of the guests from this party and we hope to see you on your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Walton Fl, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

It was a great price,friendly staff,clean and comfortable room. Beds were great. Awesome view of the beach! It was a great location. Didn't drive far for food and shopping. I will return for vacation and will tell friends. My overall stay was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frieda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni R, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and the kind comments regarding our team. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#6 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#11 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#4 of 28 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront

Property: BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
Address: 380 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6136
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Best Western Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing