We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place is a DUMP!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The place is a DUMP!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

We arrived to the Emerald Coast after 12 plus hours of driving with kids, to find out the confirmed room we reserved, was not the room they tried giving us. We reserved a room with two queen beds and they tried giving us a room with a king bed on the 6th floor. The motel's elevator was also not working. When we showed the confirmed printed reservations to the lady at the front desk, she became very rude! She told us we needed to wait for the 14 other reservations due in to see if their credit card would get denied so we could get their room. WHAT!!!! Needless to say, we did not stay there.

The place is a dump! The hotel is run down, dark, rusty, and musty. It is located on a very busy road/highway. You will have to drive, especially if you are with young children, to get to the beach.

There are much nicer places to stay in the Fort Walton/Destin area for the same money or much less. Stay away from this dump!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank busyjoyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    106
    59
    19
    21
See reviews for
102
88
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
evergreen Al
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2007

I booked a room at this hotel from the feedback and a few pictures on the internet. The rate was aprox $40 less expensive than other hotels in the area when searching. I must admit i was skeptical but when i arrived at the hotel i was suprised the rooms were very clean it seemed like everything was new, and the staff was very pleasant and helpful....i highly recommend this hotel its close to the beach.

  • Liked — cleanliness, and service
  • Disliked — hwy in front of hotel
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank bobdelux0830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed in a room that was on the top floor. We had no problems with the staff or other guests. We had a slight view of the Gulf and the Bay behind us. The only concerns that I had were minor--Not a very good Continetal Breakfast and to get to the beach, you have to cross a busy street. Overall, our room was very nice. I loved the King Size bed. I would recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessi_STL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2007

This is a great hotel! I first wasn't sure of myself when I reserved the room cause of the price but after I got there I realized just how good of a deal I was getting! The rooms are nice, my room had a beautiful beach view. And after having a nice day at the beach I cooled myself off at the pool, and later got in the jacuzzi.

You cannot beat the price of this hotel anywhere.
Overall my stay was a A++

  • Liked — the price of the hotel along with the location.
  • Disliked — no pets, I wish I could bring my dog
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thebigunit239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Marina Bay Resort
Marina Bay Resort
#10 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#13 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Coast Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Coast Inn & Suites

Property: Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Address: 1214 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6208
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Coast Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Emerald Coast Inn & Suites is located in beautiful Northwest Florida, on Okaloosa Island between Destin and Fort Walton Beach, Florida. Whether traveling for beach vacationing pleasure, business or military, Emerald Coast Inn & Suites is newly-remodeled in 2008 and offers comfortable and spacious rooms (6 floors, 59 rooms). Our rooms feature 1 king or 2 queen beds, direct dial phones, refrigerator & microwave, TV with remote control & HBO (we offer smoking or non-smoking rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Coast Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Coast Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Emerald Coast Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing