We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Black Mold” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Coast Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Emerald Coast Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1214 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Dothan, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Black Mold”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked this inn on last notice for memorial day weekend. The price was right so we booked it. ALthough it was a two night minimum which we did not want but everywhere was full. So they sent us to the fifth floor and as soon as we walked in you could smell mildew. I started looking around and on the ceiling in the room and in the bathroom was black mold. You could feel the dampness in the air. When I paid closer attention I could see black mold inside the air vent.I was not going to stay there! The receptionists was really friendly and checked us in another room down the hall. So we went to this room and I think this room was an out of order room because the soap dishes were off the wall in the shower and the drywall ceiling in the bathroom was falling apart. But there was freshly painted walls and ceiling in the room so I didnt see any mold but smelt mildew a little. Well we had such a good time out of the room at the beach and all --we wanted to stay another night in Ft.Walton. so we booked another night , but they sent us to a different room because that room was booked ( hard to believe) this time we were going to the sixth floor. That room there was fine. Memo--NEVER book at the last minute. I wanted to post this because I know some people are extremely allergic to black mold. And this may help them. Im not sure what is going on at this hotel but They do have a mold/mildew problem they need to address instead of booking people in the rooms. I think the mold is in their air duct system for sure! It would help this hotel to invest in some dehumidifiers and air filters for each room. and stop trying to cover up the problem with paint.

Room Tip: Dont book at the last minute and ask questions about the building and maintenance if its not a comme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara_nicole2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Front Office Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. It assists us greatly with improving guest experience. I am sorry there was mold in your room and happy the staff was able to move you to another room promptly. This is a problem we take very seriously and this is not the experience we want our guests to have. We appreciate you bring this to our attention and we will be on high alert. Thanks again for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    92
    51
    18
    22
See reviews for
91
78
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

VERY friendly and accommodating staff. Everyone was polite, smiled, helpful. From check in to check out, not one problem. Rooms and entire facility was VERY clean. Staff constantly working around the hotel to keep it nice and comfortable. Big breakfast, hot and cold w/ much to choose from. Close to the beach and other entertainment. Comfortable beds, pillows, and linens. Really clean bathrooms. I will stay there again. Booked through Tripshock which was great to work with and easy to use. This hotel is worth the price and more. Surprised how nice the place was. Can't say enough good things about it. Will most likely return on a yearly basis with my family.

Room Tip: view is great from the third floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. We are glad to hear you enjoyed everything during your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with such wonderful feedback. We look forward to your yearly visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I both agree that the staff was very pleasant and helpful. Even though this is an older hotel, the rooms were clean and maintained. You do need to walk about .2 of a mile to cross the road to the beach, because this is a very busy 4-lane highway. The breakfast was good with gravy, biscuits, and waffles that you make. We stayed on the 6th floor where we had the best view. There is new construction of a condo on the beach that will be partially blocking the view of the Gulf. So, the picture of the view across the street will need to be updated.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JimmyGKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. The new hotel across the street will block a little bit of our view but will not affect the view from guest rooms. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and hope you come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were skeptical while booking because the hotel is not on the beach. Prices on the beach are just way more than we wanted to spend. The price at this hotel was very reasonable.The check in desk employees were pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and had all the amenities you need. The beds were comfortable. The A/C worked great and was very quiet. The free breakfast included sausage with biscuits and gravy. Room service came everyday. One thing about room service that impressed me was they didn't make up one of the beds because I left my laptop on it. It seems they do not invade your personal items. I found that to be respectful and appreciated it. Even though the hotel is not on the beach, it is right cross the street with easy access to the beach. It is close to everything you could want to do. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was helpful. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some wonderful feedback on your stay. We hope you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This hotel is older but it doesn't matter. Staff is awesome and friendly. Rooms are spacious and beds are comfy. View of the ocean is great - especially from the 6th floor where we are. It isn't right on the beach.....you have to cross the street to get to the beach. But the hotel across the street right on the beach is not any more impressive than this one and is more than double the money. We haven't had any problems and have no complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view and as high up as they can put you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Front Office Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Emerald Coast Inn and Suites. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very pleased with this hotel. Smaller, older place but very well kept. The staff was very polite and helpful. You can tell they have done recent renovations. Most importantly, it was very clean. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was good. If you want a luxury condo on the beach this js not the place for you! If you want a nice, clean, affordable place to stay with a short walk to the beach, this is for you! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wlg1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Front Office Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking to time to provide us with feedback and provide future guest with a lot of helpful information. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed in room 509 on the 5th floor for the weekend. I was also skeptical about cleanliness, but the hotel room looked awesome. My only flaw (and not the hotels fault) was there was a group of loud drunk people at 2 AM right outside our door, I did call the front desk and it was taken care of in under 5 minutes! I would stay here again. The pool was small, but when you are right across from the beach it doesn't matter much. It was just my husband and I, I did like the hotel alot for the money, but I don't know if I would bring my 2 year old with us here. It didn't have a "kid friendly" vibe to me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaturaltoGlitz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ecis1214, Front Office Manager at Emerald Coast Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Emerald Coast Inn & Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear the staff was able to make you feel comfortable during your stay and handle problems promptly. We are a very kid friendly hotel and most guests that stay with us are families with small children. Thanks again for providing us with feedback on your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#10 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bayside
Quality Inn Bayside
#21 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Coast Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Coast Inn & Suites

Property: Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Address: 1214 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Coast Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Emerald Coast Inn & Suites is located in beautiful Northwest Florida, on Okaloosa Island between Destin and Fort Walton Beach, Florida. Whether traveling for beach vacationing pleasure, business or military, Emerald Coast Inn & Suites is newly-remodeled in 2008 and offers comfortable and spacious rooms (6 floors, 59 rooms). Our rooms feature 1 king or 2 queen beds, direct dial phones, refrigerator & microwave, TV with remote control & HBO (we offer smoking or non-smoking rooms). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Emerald Coast Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Coast Inn And Suites
Emerald Coast Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing