We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Island jewel in the gulf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island

Okaloosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Island jewel in the gulf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Our good friends purchased a condo on Oskaloosa Island last year, we were there for 10 days @ Emerald Isle & did not want to leave, this area is quiet, beautiful clean beaches, great access to every restaurant, shopping, Publix grocery store 2 miles, only 6 miles to Destin,if your destination is Florida, don't miss this truly one of the secret jewels of the Emerald Coast

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    154
    34
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed for a full week and had a blast. Beautiful weather and a great beach! Family oriented, but we did not feel out of place as twenty somethings. FWB is a cute mid sized beach town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 721elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beauty and Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the best places on the Gulf coast to go to if you're not interested in touristy junk and traffic. Beautiful beaches, nice restaurants and missing the crowds of Destin and other places.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GSUPanther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Esther, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Love it here! No messing around with traffic of Destin. I just love it. If you go out to the public access, you have a better shot at parking than you do at the Boardwalk. But the boardwalk does have an easy walk to Crab Trap to get some drinks or something to eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Another fantastic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our stay was the second week of September in a gulf front room at Waters Edge and this was our 3rd trip in the last 18 months - The beach is just fantastic ( we went to Sanibel in May and the shelling is great but not idyllic as Okaloosa) sand is so soft and the sea conditions were excellent, like warm bath water. Great location, no big crowds and everthing is easily accessable. Can't wait to get back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing