We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“10 year anniversary trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Okaloosa Island

Okaloosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Murchison, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“10 year anniversary trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here a couple weeks ago.. beautiful water.. wonderful powdery sand.. great sunsets and sunrises.. found some shells early in the morning.. even saw a sting ray in the water!! The beach was really clean too..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank momlikes2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    164
    35
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reevesville sc
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okaloosa is so beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Loved everything about beautiful Okaloosa Island. It is the type of beach environment that my husband & I love, but is so hard to find. The beaches were never crowded during our stay. We walked every morning & so enjoyed the brilliant white sands & emerald clear gulf waters. The area of beach on the eastern part of the island was a favorite, it is a protected beach & just stunning. Most times, we would be the only folks on that strip of the beach enjoying the many birds & various sea-life visible in the clear gulf waters. If you love nature & a more quiet beach location, Okaloosa is for you. We can't wait to visit again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ejcrlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis to N.O. to Fort Walton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Okaloosa Island is not has heavily stalked by the spring break crowd and can be enjoyed most of the year by both couples and families. Even when we are in Destin we drive over to the best seafood on the beach at Old Bay Steamer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MailEvade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice beach, not pet friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited the island during the weekend after Labor Day in 2013 and stayed at Best Western for the first two nights of our vacation. The beaches had white sand and were clean. Unfortunately, the area is not very pet friendly. We had to bring our 70 lb dog on this trip because he acted out during his temperament test and got rejected from boarding. Our family made the decision to bring our dog with us the week before we traveled. We found out upon arrival that pets are not allowed on the beach and there aren't too many options for pet boarding or daycare in the area. Luckily, we had relatives in the area who allowed our dog to stay in their backyard during our visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Huong T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Neat Little Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my family visit the beach at Okaloosa Island because it has the cleanest and most relaxing beaches to relax. It is a good balance of commercial tourism and being at the beach. Okaloosa is not as crowded as Destin and has better beaches.The pier by Anglers are a neat place to walk to and is a place where you can go fishing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justinlawliet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Okaloosa Island also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Okaloosa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing