We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angler's Beachside Grill

Angler's Beachside Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Anglers Beachside Grill, a Fort Walton Beach restaurant, has been open since 1999. It stands at the entrance of the long time landmark, Okaloosa Island Pier. Angler's Specializes in full service beach weddings, receptions, rehearsal dinners, or any corporate/group dining event.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

My family visited Angler's on our way out of Destin. We weren't really expecting a whole lot after seeing the outside of the building, but we went ahead and gave it a go. The breakfast was really good. I had an omelet loaded with meat and veggies that came with home fries and toast, my wife had biscuits and gravy, and our little one had a pancake. Food came out quick and hot. The food was reasonably priced, the view from the outdoor deck was great, and we all left there feeling full and ready to hit the road. I can't say how dinner or lunch is, but breakfast was totally worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ThEsTrEaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, Manager at Angler's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
ThEsTrEaK- Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our restaurant, we appreciate the feedback! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the view. We hope you and your family will come back for dinner the next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    234
    138
    64
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location - Average Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food and service was just average. Seemed mostly like already prepared food service type selections rather than cooked to order. For what you get it is overpriced. The location, right next to the Gulfarium and on the beachfront, is great. It's a shame the food was not in the same league as its location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, Manager at Angler's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Jeanne M- Thanks for the feedback! We appreciate your suggestions regarding the food and prices, and we consider them. We are glad to hear you liked the view, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Excellent waterfront venue. But there's more to the story...something most of you don't get to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I've been eating at Anglers for over a decade. It's a great, fun-for-the-family operation, with a wonderful view, walk-on access to the fishing pier, and a little play area for the kids. The food is consistently very good, and we've never had a complaint with the service.

Having said that I want to tell you about what means the most to me. Anglers is part of a larger company that has been extremely supportive to local children's charities. One such charity that is particularly close to my heart is a center that provides therapy and education services to children with autism.

TripAdvisor doesn't have an area for "non-profit" organizations. But if they did you'd all be seeing reviews for an autism center in Valparaiso/Niceville, FL that is...in my opinion (and my other parents'), one of the best, if not THE BEST autism center in the southeast United States. Our local area is blessed to have an autism center that attracts families to move to our area from all over the country...and two families who have moved her from other countries...specifically to get access to top-quality services for their child on the autism spectrum. It's not just one of the best of its kind, but also one of the very few that operates as a non-profit.

Anglers, and their partner restaurants have been incredibly generous in their support of this charity, and other important childrens' charities here in the Florida Panhandle. And I want you to know that when you dine at Anglers you're not just enjoying a good meal on what many say is the most beautiful beach in the country, you're also supporting one of the most civic-minded businesses you can find on the Emerald Coast.

Some of our local restaurants really took an economic beating in the past five or six years. The bad economy put a "crimp" in the vacation plans of many Americans who frequent our area. And add to that the tragic oil-spill we endured a couple years ago, which all but shut down the tourist industry for the entire summer, and you can understand how difficult this past few years has been. Lots of area restaurants have closed in the past couple years. But no matter how challenging the business environment has been, Anglers and their other corporate restaurants have consistently and repeatedly stepped forward to offer to help local children's charities. And in the case of this charity that is so near and dear to my heart, I know that there are children who are receiving help today who otherwise wouldn't be, specifically because of the scholarship program this autism center has established, and the support that Anglers' Restaurant has provided that center.

So when you visit Anglers and enjoy your meal, and take in the fantastic scenery of the Emerald Coast, I hope you'll remember that as you do you're also supporting a restaurant that sacrifices a lot in order to support children in need.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenATB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, Manager at Angler's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
RavenATB- Thank you for all of your wonderful words, they mean so much to us! We pride ourselves on being a family friendly restaurant and we try to do all we can to give back to the community. We would like to thank you for being a supporter of our business, but give you an even bigger THANK YOU for supporting local children!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalimar, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gulf View upmatched”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

You have great food and DRINKS with an amazing Gulf view. The Fishing pier is located just outside the restaurtant and actually has some ouside tables along the pier..Happy Hour...and upstairs TV's for all of the major sporting events...a must try is the buffalo wings for sure!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marathonman4u2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, Manager at Angler's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
marathonman4u2000- Thank you for the five star review! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the food and your overall experience. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Tasting Blackened Grouper & Great place to eat it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

For some great food and atmosphere, Anglers is the place to go. Open air eating with the beach just a few feet away. Try the Blackened Grouper, although it's gotten more expensive over the years, it's well worth the price. Want to hang out a night with good food and night walks on the beach, you get it all at Anglers!!! They have some awesome drinks too and the staff has always been nothing but friendly. I make sure I get to Anglers on every trip down to Emerald Coast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Punkin14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy F, Manager at Angler's Beachside Grill, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Punkin14- Thank you for all of your kind words, they mean so much to us! We are so happy to hear you enjoy the blackened grouper, it is one of our favorites! We appreciate your loyalty and are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angler's Beachside Grill also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Angler's Beachside Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing