We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Destin West”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, Tennessee
2 reviews
“We love Destin West”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed Gulf Side unit 402. It has a beautiful view of the beach and is very comfortable. Our only suggestion for improvement would be replacing little things like the rugs and doormats...you can tell they've had a lot of use. The resort is quiet and a great place for small children with the selection of pools and the splash garden. The grounds are clean and well-kept; staff was friendly and helpful. We'll stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rblb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks so much for posting your review. Destin West Vacations does manage the unit you rented, and we will pass your feedback about the unit on to the owner. We are so glad that and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    102
    37
    28
    26
See reviews for
286
40
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harvest, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were not pleased with the amount of walking that it took to get to the pools. Also, there were no places to eat on site, or to get an alcoholic beverage. Destin West charges the prices and uses the name "resort." However, there is nothing that makes it a resort. It is really just a hotel with lots of pools. We've stayed at lots of resorts and this one was the worst. The customer service was awful. With a check in of 6 and a checkout of 10, it doesn't seem fair for the price you pay. Most hotels and resorts offer 4 pm at the latest. We will not return.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback. Since you didn't mention the unit that you stayed in, we are unable to determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page. It doesn't seem as though you rented from us, as our check in time is 4 pm, not 6 pm. In any event we are sorry that you weren't pleased with your stay. We wish you the best in the future.
*The resort does not offer any dining or drinking venues onsite, however we are right next to Fudpuckers, which offers multiple options for food and drink as well as an arcade and watersport/boat rentals. Also, guests of Destin West Vacations are welcome to all of the amenities at the Ramada Plaza Resort next door, and these include multiple bars, restaurants, Kid's Splash Garden and multiple pools.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, ken
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We rented a penthouse on the bay-side through VRBO. Unit was great with a great view of the ocean. The resort is very clean, quiet with lots of amenities. My son loved the lazy river and the three extra pools and two hot tubs are really nice on the bayside.

Elevators were no problem and the sky bridge made it convenient to cross over to the beach side. On the beach side there is a really big pool and one other pool that looked nice and I never saw anyone in it. We also stopped over and used the Ramada pool and splash zone for my son. My understanding as a guest of Destin West we had access to the Ramada pool. It was pretty cool with water falls and a swim up bar.

Beach is great of course. Family friendly resort, plenty of parking and much more laid back than Waterscape, which is where we stayed last year. Yes, you have to wear a band but the staff were not looking real hard for the bands and they were very nice and always out cleaning stuff up.

I enjoyed the view of the beach side as there is a lot of boat activity and it was a change from the ocean side we normally stay on. However, if you were staying on the first or second floor you might not have a great view of the bay. Not a negative, just an observation.

Highly recommend this resort and probably would never stay in Destin, traffic to and from is crazy all the time. This location is convenient to grocery stores, gas stations and plenty of nice restaurants in Ft. Walton.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dutch1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thanks so much for posting your review! We are unable to determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page. However we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the resort.

Sincerely,

Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This place is great and this Gulfside villa 305 at Destin West was amazing! We have stayed in other units here before but this little villa makes you feel like your on a Caribbean island complete with bamboo bed, red blender, beach mural on the wall and frogs! We are booking this villa now for next year!!! Sugar beaches, 5 pools and that lazy river with everything within walking distance.......love it!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PandTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thanks so much for posting your review. You didn't stay with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page. But in any event, we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This was our first time here. We stayed Gulf side. It was only a short walk to the beach. Plenty of pools and a lazy river. The lazy river and a pool are located on the bay side but we didn't have to cross the street because there is a over the road walkway that connects the gulf side with the bay side resorts. There is also a Remada Inn next door with a big pool with a waterfall that we were able to use. Everything was nice and clean. You have a parking garage so you can park on your floor and out of the sun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dudley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Owner at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review, we appreciate your feedback. Since the unit you stayed in wasn't identified, we are unable to tell whether or not you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page. Either way, we're very pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ooltewah, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a surprise! This resort has been perfect for our family. LOVE the lazy river and hot tubs and zero entry pool. We walk across a bridge to the beach. The beaches are beautiful and the water is so clear. The resort is well kept and the other visitors are respectful. We've been to alot of condos and beach/water vacations. This is the best by far. Our group included 54 yrs of age to 3 yrs of age with teen agers and 20 yr olds. We all agreed that it was perfect.

Room Tip: We preferred the bay side condos
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post your review. Because the unit you stayed in wasn't mentioned, we aren't able to determine whether or not you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this Tripadvisor page. In any event, we appreciate your feedback and are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at the resort.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Let me start by saying the views from the roof, and the grilling on the ceramic egg grill in this particular unit, were awesome for evening entertaining with friends and family. If the weather had been a little more cooperative, it would have been an ideal place to get some sun as well. We visited the week prior to Easter, and the whole country seemed to be in a cold snap!

This condo was very clean, nicely updated & decorated, and aside from a blow-dryer, had everything we could have needed. Beds were just-right comfy and new; our three sons all had plenty of room. The condo was located on the bayside, but the views at night were stunning, as the lazy river was lit in changing colors--very pretty to enjoy from the balcony.

We were there with another family in an adjacent condo, and their condo had umbrella/chair service on the beach. Ours did not, but we didn't really miss it. The beach itself is beautiful white--one of the prettiest we have been on, and very clean. You can walk for a long way, and even during a busy spring break time, it never felt crowded. Beach access from the bayside condos was via a walkway over the road and through the Destin West beachside complex,--it probably took five minutes to make the trip.

Lots of places to eat outside along the beach, but due to the cool weather, we ate mostly indoors. Once good place we stopped due to reviews on Tripadvisor was at Burrito del Sol, which was a very casual, pay at the counter place in Ft. Walton Beach. It had great fish tacos.

Overall, if you are visiting Ft. Walton Beach area, I can highly recommend this unit and location. As I said earlier, the biggest bummer was the transitional weather, which was not quite warm enough in the mid-60's to really feel like the beach vacation we were looking forward to. Would probably be much better a bit later in the spring or early summer.

Room Tip: All the penthouse units have rooftop access from a spiral staircase on the main balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roamingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thanks so much for posting your extensive review! Feedback like yours means a lot to us, and is very helpful for other travelers as well. We appreciate you and hope to see again!

Sincerely,

Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
321 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
13.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach R...
#10 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
2,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin West Beach and Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Property: Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Address: 1320 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6822
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Destin West Beach and Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destin West offers the best of many worlds. We encompass both sides of the island, with beautiful views of both the Choctawhatchee Bay and Gulf of Mexico from our family-friendly condos and penthouses. Tired of the sand? Relax on the deck of our large Gulf-side pool while kids enjoy the adjacent Splash Garden. Or float in the Lazy River at our Bay-side tropical pool oasis. We feature villa units all the way to 3 bedroom fully equipped condominiums, all with private balconies. Penthouses feature double decks with roof-top private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Destin West Beach and Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destin West Beach And Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing