We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Great location, great pools and well maintained.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Great location, great pools and well maintained.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first trip to the Fort Walton Beach area and we could not have been more pleased. We rented directly from the owner via VRBO. Personally I love this method of renting because you are provided with multiple pictures so you see exactly what the unit you are renting looks like. And the owner has a vested interest in making sure you are happy. Our unit was a penthouse unit in the Sandpiper building on the Bay side of the complex. Even though those buildings are older, the unit was spacious and well maintained. LOVED having the meticulously maintained pool area just downstairs. The pool area was cleaned every morning and the folks that work the area during the day are unobtrusive, helpful and polite. We had a beautiful view of the bay and the pool area from our balconies. We arrived rather late in the evening hungry and tired. It was great to have access to a delicious seafood dinner at the boardwalk entertainment complex just a block away. Located on Okaloosa island between Fort Walton Beach and Destin, delicious food and great entertainment are never far away. There were some excellent restaurants in FWB and right on the island too. We didn't spend a lot of time in Destin, but we did appreciate the laid back and not too crowded atmosphere of the island. Another plus was Fudpucker's Water Sports located right next to the resort. We rented waverunners and a pontoon boat and they were excellent to work with. It couldn't have been more convenient and those activities were the highlight of the trip. There is a skybridge over the main road with elevators on both sides. This makes travel between the beach and bay safe and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    101
    37
    27
    25
See reviews for
280
40
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississippi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The resort was great, there are several pools, a lazy river, lots of kid activities. The rooms on the other hand could use some upgrades, especially for what they cost. I stayed in the Villas, on business with a couple others, and all our rooms were about the same. The rickety iron bed definitely needs replacing, I thought it would fall apart every time I rolled over. Also, there is an interesting opening or window between the bathroom and bedroom area. This definitely needs to be closed off. It does have shutters but they do open which is weird.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MississippiCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had a wonderful time ,destin has white sugar sand fishing and awesome restaurants ,u can always find live music and its extremely relaxing good time , u will love this place, loved the shrip had lots of happy hours at the hogs breath is beautiful sit out side get a breeze and appetizers half price yum ,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KesslerKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

stayed in room 215 gulfside and the room was clean...but the ice maker was broke, and contacted the front office and said they would send someone to fix it. When we checked out the ice maker still was not fixed and all the lady at the front desk could say is I'm sorry.
When your at the beach you Need ice! For the price of the condo i expected the ice maker to work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovehair71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We’ve had some technical issues with our Trip Advisor page, and Destin West Vacations sincerely apologizes to all of the travelers who have posted reviews and have not been responded to. Your reviews mean a lot to us, and we are working on posting a response to every single reviewer. Destin West Vacations is under new management and we look forward to the future with our Trip Advisor family and guests.

Thank you very much for sharing your concerns. We sincerely appreciate feedback like yours as it helps us identify improvement opportunities. We are very sorry about the ice maker not working during your entire stay. You are absolutely right, when you're on vacation at the beach ice is a must-have. Our goal is to ensure that issues like these don't interrupt our guest's vacations.

Thank you so much for reviewing Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, managed professionally by Destin West Vacations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed x 1 wk in this unit. Beachfront. Needs updating. Sofa bed needs replacing. Carpets need shampooing. Master bedroom door needs adjusting as every time it was opened it woke up everyone. Bring batteries for tv remotes. We've stayed at DW x 5 yrs and each yr we have tried different units. This one being beachfront excludes the view of the huge pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkrusen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Orleans
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hi,i'm a man from Belgium and i did stay at the Pelican bay with my family,september 2012.
For us it was the first time in the US and we all loved it.
At the local shop the told me it was the first time people from Belgium came to that place.
All the people we met where very friendly and helpfull,at the resort and the local shops & restaurants.
When the time is right i wil go back overthere,i'ts realy a very nice place to stay for holidays.
Greetings,

Jacky.Rappoort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikkenewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were here for spring break and unfortunately the weather took a cold turn.

The resort should be awesome. We were staying in a 3 bedroom condo in the Heron building on the bay side. This resort manages to make bayside accommodations almost as desirable as gulf front with the great lazy river pool and several other pools located on the bay side property. The lazy river is not heated so we couldn't really enjoy it. There are several heated pools and the grandkids loved them. The resort claims to have an indoor/outdoor pool located on the gulfside. It is indoors only because part of the pool is located beneath one of the buildings. It was not enclosed (well I guess it is, by a fence) or protected from outside temperatures. The only protection from the elements would be the sun and I suppose that could be nice in summer. However, it was not somewhere to take the kids swimming when it was cold and windy out.

The downside to the lazy river pool and others in the immediate area are they are really hard to get to for anyone with any physical disability. My adult daughter had a broken foot and was on crutches. While there is a lift once you are in the area to get down the last set of stairs, actually getting to the area without doing at least one set of stairs requires some homework beforehand or else a lot of backtracking.( I actually saw a man doing the stairs with his child in a wheelchair.)This issue really needs correcting before someone gets hurt.

Our checkin was late, room wasn't ready until 6pm. We were given the wrong code to the door. I called the desk to save a trip and was told I was in the wrong building. Several phone calls and a hike to the office with paperwork, finally got us the correct code and in the door. When we got in, the sliding door was broken and actually open several inches. Although we were told maintenance was on the way, they never showed and my husband finally fixed it himself around 10 pm. Our ac was broken, it took 3 days to get that repaired. The first bowl I pulled from the cabinets was covered in dried spaghetti noodles and the first plate looked about the same
.
Sounds like a terrible trip, huh? It actually wasn't. The condo was huge, 3 full bedrooms. The bedding was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped. (I'm sure this varies from condo to condo though with each unit owned indiviually.) The living area was roomy and we never felt stacked on top of each other even with 3 adults (4 one night) and 3 children. The owner of the condo did everything they should to make their place a great vacation place.

If it didn't feel like Destin West was cutting some corners in managing the property and in the customer service department, it would be one of my favorite places to go with the grandchildren. If there is a next time, I'll just know going in to inspect everything immediately and remember the squeaky wheel gets the grease. Based on my experience, one call doesn't seem to ever get the job done here.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad location. Gulfside-near the beach. Bayside- near the lazy river a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We’ve had some technical issues with our Trip Advisor page, and Destin West Vacations sincerely apologizes to all of the travelers who have posted reviews and have not been responded to. Your reviews mean a lot to us, and we are working on posting a response to every single reviewer. Destin West Vacations is under new management and we look forward to the future with our Trip Advisor family and guests.

Thank you very much for sharing your concerns. We sincerely appreciate feedback like yours as it helps us identify improvement opportunities.
Indoor Pool - Destin West Beach and Bay Resort has never had an indoor pool. The pool at the Villas is half covered /half outdoor, and there are 6 other pools to enjoy as well the heated pool and Grotto Pool at the Ramada.
We're very sorry about the maintenance and housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay with us. Our guest's satisfaction is so important to us. We have a new Rental Manager and Housekeeping Director, and together we are working to ensure everyone checks out with a great vacation memory and experience.


Thank you so much for reviewing Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, managed professionally by Destin West Vacations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,256 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#14 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#8 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
943 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach R...
#10 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin West Beach and Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Property: Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Address: 1320 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6822
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin West Beach and Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destin West offers the best of many worlds. We encompass both sides of the island, with beautiful views of both the Choctawhatchee Bay and Gulf of Mexico from our family-friendly condos and penthouses. Tired of the sand? Relax on the deck of our large Gulf-side pool while kids enjoy the adjacent Splash Garden. Or float in the Lazy River at our Bay-side tropical pool oasis. We feature villa units all the way to 3 bedroom fully equipped condominiums, all with private balconies. Penthouses feature double decks with roof-top private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Destin West Beach and Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destin West Beach And Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing