We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“One of our favorites!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Lawrenceville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My family stayed at the Destin West Beach and Bay Resort April 2012. We had a wonderful time! The accomodations were clean and comfortable and the amentities were excellent. We enjoyed the multiple pools, especially the lazy river. Families will love the spacious resort grounds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank alisa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    94
    34
    26
    25
See reviews for
257
37
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just got back from 4 days at Destin West gulfside, and had a wonderful time! Weather was perfect both times we visited Ft. Walton. (April and October) condo was clean and loved the beds. Pools were very nice and the lazy river pool is easy to get to if you are able bodied. The only complaint is that you need to bring salt, pepper, dish soap, toilet paper and trash bags. Just wish I would of known ahead of time. Close to the Boardwalk and great places to eat there too!

Room Tip: Close to the beach are good for everyone, but the bayside may be better for use of families for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Planned a quick weekend trip for my son's birthday. 2 adults and 3 kids and the condo accomadted us perfect. Nice balcony and views ( we stayed on the gulf side). Outdoor furniture was a little dated but the overall experience was very nice. Kids loved the huge pool, beach and lazy river. Condo had all the ammenties and we really enjoyed ourselves. No hassel to get in and out this place. Very Nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank McM4789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I have been trying for months to get a call back from these people for our wedding party and NOTHING. I have called, left messages, gone online and used their contact information.....still nothing. We have decided to go with Jetty East.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We’ve had some technical issues with our Trip Advisor page, and Destin West Vacations sincerely apologizes to all of the travelers who have posted reviews and have not been responded to. Your reviews mean a lot to us, and we are working on posting a response to every single reviewer. Destin West Vacations is under new management and we look forward to the future with our Trip Advisor family and guests.

Based on your review, we're unable to tell if you were referring to us, Destin West Vacations, or another management company or private owner. In any event, we thank you very much for sharing your concerns. We sincerely appreciate feedback like yours as it helps us identify improvement opportunities. I can't apologize enough for your experience, regardless of which company you were working with. I can assure you that lack of service is something no guest should or will ever receive from us.

Thank you so much for reviewing Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, managed professionally by Destin West Vacations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Settlement
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have stayed here for the past 3 years. We absolutly love this condo. We usually stay in the Pelican building bayside but this time stayed in Sandpiper bayside. We always rent a Lanai unit. I have to say that the Pelican Lanai units have a better view than Sandpiper. If you were higher up it wouldnt make a difference I wouldnt think. On the bayside there is a lazy river, 2 hot tubs and a regular pool with water fall into it and a zero entry pool. There is also a gulf side that has hot tubs and a pool. We spend most of our time floating around the lazy river. No other way to relax!!! If you choose to go to the beach there is a walk over to go on instead of actually crossing the highway. This is very nice too. All you have to do is ask the front desk and they will give you their personal preference on restaurants and places for activities. They are very friendly here too. We will be returning year after year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TRobins351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not really impressed with this place any more....seems to be an all smoking complex. Out on the balcony, on the beach, by the pool - there is always someone smoking and blowing it your way. Also, if it is busy and you don't have reserved chairs, beware - you may not find a place on the beach...the reserved chairs from the Ramada Inn were strung out in front of the Destin West Resort. The lazy river is nice, but beer cans left around the river in the bushes. Have stayed at several condos in the area, including this one in the past... thought we would give it another shot (our beach chairs were stolen last time).. but, think we will go back to a little higher quality resort. All-in-all, to be fair, if you pay rates no more than $1200, it would be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank tjcleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Perfect location, best of both worlds - beach access and wonderful lazy river / pool area. I was in town for business and my family with two youngsters loved spending time at the Lazy River and pool and walking across the bridge to access the beach side.

Room Tip: No food and beverage on site, full kitchens available, grill out area by beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank jonk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Destin
0.7 mi away
Waterscape Condominiums
Waterscape Condominiums
#2 of 15 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin West Beach and Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Property: Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Address: 1320 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6822
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Destin West Beach and Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destin West offers the best of many worlds. We encompass both sides of the island, with beautiful views of both the Choctawhatchee Bay and Gulf of Mexico from our family-friendly condos and penthouses. Tired of the sand? Relax on the deck of our large Gulf-side pool while kids enjoy the adjacent Splash Garden. Or float in the Lazy River at our Bay-side tropical pool oasis. We feature villa units all the way to 3 bedroom fully equipped condominiums, all with private balconies. Penthouses feature double decks with roof-top private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vacatia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Destin West Beach and Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destin West Beach And Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing