We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful outside , inside dirty”
Review of Marina Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marina Bay Resort
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The care of the outside is meticulous !! It's a great place to see the fireworks!! But the rooms are EXTREMELY outdated & dirty. The plugs were not connected in the tubs & there were roaches !!! The doors use regular keys & it was hard to get in at times. The pool was nice & kept very clean. You could walk to a nearby park & watch the fireworks, or sit at the pool for them also.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Marina Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 219 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

got an admiral suite this time, extra room, plenty of space for 2 for a week. nice and quiet, kitchen set up with just about everything needed. overlooked the courtyard which has the hottub and pool. also fished their pier and caught and small stuff. beautiful sunsets from the pier area.

Room Tip: lots to choose from whether water front or courtyard. both nice....
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raperlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This place by no means is the Taj Mahal. But if you want a good hotel at a great price this is the place to go. The owners got me in at last minute and were super friendly. It is right off the beach with a beautiful view of the ocean and for only $59 a night I got a full kitchen with all the utensils and cookware needed to make anything I want! This resort is also a timeshare so you get a lot of extras you wouldn't normally get with other hotels. This is an older hotel but it is clean and quiet! The air conditioning units works perfectly and look like their newer! It is also a couple of blocks from old-town Fort Walton Beach with some nice shops and a tattoo if you'd like one! All walking distance. Just remember you're not here to enjoy a hotel room, you're here to enjoy Florida!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tulirox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I called at least 4 times before I finally got there. We made our reservations 7 mos in advance. We had an excellent view on the Marina side. Everything was clean. I did see one little bug on patio/balcony. Ours was a small kitchen, living area and bedroom. The fold out couch was comfortable. The bed was nice and firm. We joined in some of the get togethers. The staff was very friendly. We enjoyed our week there. Going back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Imjaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Enjoyed the stay. Disappointed that we were on the parking lot side. Should have asked if they had any rooms on Marina side. Didn't realize that there wasn't a beach on property. Guess the name should have told us something.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckeye_Freddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We rented one of the cheaper rooms in the building that isn't at the beachside. The other building belonging to Marina Bay Resort had the seemingly rooms. There seems to be a big difference in Quality of the rooms you choose. Anway when I entered the room a tiny lizard crept from under the bed. I spotted two other insects crawling around. For 54 Dollars I thought as long as they don't touch me I'm fine but bed bugs bit me and that's a minus. Another downside is that the room had a horrible stench. The AC was too loud and if you are a light sleeper are going to have trouble getting a good nights sleep. The Bathoom was actually okay just the insect that was crawling around there made me feel unpleasant. WiFi was good though. All in all take a look first and best stay away from the cheaper rooms Marina Bay Resorts offer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Streichler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry A, General Manager at Marina Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We have been unable to match the name on the review with our registration records for October and would appreciate a call or email from this individual, without this contact we are unable to identify the specific room from this review. Lizard because some guest choose to leave doors and windows open during nice weather, it is not impossible for a small chameleon to enter a room & remain unseen betweeen guests. In more than 29 years as manager, this is the first report i have received of this nature.Bed bug bite due to immense publicity of the nation wide bed bug epidemic,the hospitality industry has found that any itch or mosquito bite is assumed to be bed bug bite. With any report of possible bed bug bite we engage an independent detection company They use canine detection triple the effectiveness of human detection. The dog and handler have over 400hrs of training together the dog can detect both live eggs and bugs. Any report of possible bed bugs the room is put out of service until the handler and dog confirm the room is clear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This resort was a Sheraton years ago and we return to every year for a week as a timeshare. However, they do rent rooms or by the day or week as well. The rooms and grounds are clean and well maintained. The pool and hot tub are very nice. Most of the rooms have a view of the courtyard, pool or the water where many boats are docked - quite picturesque. They have good wireless internet, TVs, kitchenette with a range, fridge, sink and microwave... It is not the most deluxe of accommodations, but very comfortable and convenient to everything. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoy coming here as it is only an 8 hour drive from Nashville.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water - or courtyard as a second choice. The buildings are all 2 floors and...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#12 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seabreeze Inn
Seabreeze Inn
#19 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,323 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
610 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Resort

Address: 80 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-5882
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: $87 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Marina Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing