We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyable, family friendly, and affordable will stay here again if we return to the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marina Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Bay Resort
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fortville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, family friendly, and affordable will stay here again if we return to the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Traveled with my wife, son, and parents. We stayed in the admiral suite and had a good time on vacation. This resort/hotel is an affordable place to stay on a family vacation. The room and property were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The resort has a pool which my son loved, but it is dominated by kids so not alot of relaxing by the pool. The location is close to downtown ft. walton very close to local restaurants and not far from the big chains if you would rather eat there. I grabbed a bike and rode through downtown and through a nearby park. A couple of our favorite restaurants were the magnolia grill, sealand, and staffs all excellent food and service in relatively quiet atmospheres. The resort provides boat docks if you have a boat, which i'm sure is convienent to boat owners. The beach is a short drive (about 2 min) across the bridge, we liked the beasley pubic beach access the best, plenty of space to relax and enjoy the beach. It is the whitest beach i've ever seen, been to clearwater,sarasota,and several places in the caribbean the beaches in ft. walton are the whitest my wife and I have seen. If you prefer more hustle and bustle then destin is a longer drive down the coast. There is a ton of shopping, eating, and just about everything you can think of in destin, i just think the typical beach tourist town. We ate at mcguires in destin (overrated) and really enjoyed a locally owned place in destin called the lighthouse excellent food and great prices (half the menu was half price got steak and lobster tail for 22 bucks). We attempted fuddpuckers in destin,but wait was 1 hour and 45 minutes so good luck if you wanna eat there, they say go at 11am or 430 if you wanna get a table. My wife and i preferred the quieter ft. walton area. Our only complaint about the area is its seems to roll up the sidewalks about 8 or 9pm if your lucky. We brought my parents along to watch our son so we could have a couple nights on the town, but we were hugely dissappointed. We really wanted a place on the beach to sit, talk, drink, and enjoy the coast at night, but the only place we could find open was the swamp and it is impossible to talk in that place. Other places were open but we can get bars anywhere, we can't get bars on the beach anywhere. We did enjoy a few drinks at the salty duck if you like a good "beer bar" large selection of micro/craft beers at reasonable prices, but again beer bars are everywhere. We just wanted a good beach bar and ft. walton didn't have one at least open past about 9 or 10pm. Overall we enjoyed ourselves and the marina bay resort was great for the money we spent, but i would characterize ft. walton as a family place with little "beach night life" for tourists.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nunny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    56
    36
    11
    11
See reviews for
88
53
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Look, this is basically an old hotel that was converted into condo units. So it is really a condo-tel. There is a hot tub, pool, exercise room and game room. That's about it. Don't expect anything close to a resort. The rooms are the same size as hotel rooms, except they now have mini-kitchens. They are about the same size as any extended stay suite-hotel room. We chose this hotel for two reasons: It was in the RCI family of timeshares and it had a dock for our boat. We enjoyed that we could take the boat out on the bay or to crab island in the morning, and then play in the pool in the afternoon. Otherwise, we were not impressed with the hotel location or the hotel grounds. Not that they were bad, they were not ideal. The number one reason I would not return is because there is no beach nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubba375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This is a motel not a hotel or a resort...the pictures speak for themselves (smelly, moldy and dirty should not be associated w a 3 star rating). If you are charged $50 or less per evening than maybe, but if you are asked to pay anything above that---your getting cheated.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank noann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This hotel should be ashamed of it's self to be called a resort! Our rooms had a horrible odor and mildew was on the ceilings and floor panels. The place reminded me of a cheap motel from back in the 70's.

The staff was very nice and accommodating but we could not
bear to sleep there. This hotel is way overpriced for what it is. It's only worth $20 per night.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dsmith89001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

They messed up our reservation and gave us a room that stinks, has wet carpet, and a bad ac for $594. I've been coming here for 28 years (since they opened), and always enjoyed it. But I will not be back again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubba705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My husband and I just took our honeymoon to Destin last month, but since we didn't want to pay the Destin hotel prices, we decided to stay in Fort Walton Beach. Marina Bay was perfect since we didn't want to pay a fortune!! I believe we only paid $565 for a 7 night stay. It does look like an older establishment, but it was very well kept! The rooms were clean and kept cool. We always had fresh towels and the cleaning lady was super nice! The view over the heated pool is beautiful, as it overlooks the bay and the sailboats. It's also nice that you can walk around the boat docks. Our bed was huge and super comfortable, with several fluffy pillows. I slept great! The staff at the front desk was very polite and the lady who made our appointment over the phone, was so nice!!! It's also located by some awesome shops and the Indian Temple Burial Mound. If you want a hotel that is decent and nice without the overpriced stay, Marina Bay is perfect!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ashgray89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Have stayed here for several years--but the last couple of years found the resort not to be up to par! The staff at the front desk was not truthful when telling me they were booked to capacity when I was most disappointed in the room I had reserved--when I arrived to the room, the bathroom was so small I could not turn around in it--no vanity--I asked for another room only to be told they were booked to capacity--then another staff spoke up to say a "parking lot" room was open--I asked for a waterfront at first. I ended up staying but found out there were three waterfront rooms vacant and several other rooms vacant all that week. I was quoted one price for my room for the week only to end up paying an extra 84.00 at checkout when my final bill was given to me. I told the front desk I was quoted a certain price--but the staff I must have been mistaken! I paid cash for my room so they had the upper hand! I caught the front desk in four "untruths" when I question them at my checkout! I don't like this kind of treatment---and certainly would not recommend this "resort?"! The resort was virtually empty! I told them I would not be returning--all they said was have a nice day!! Some courtesy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#9 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.8 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#14 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Bay Resort

Property: Marina Bay Resort
Address: 80 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-5882
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marina Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Marina Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing