We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (684)
Filter reviews
684 results
Traveler rating
436
154
44
28
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
154
44
28
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kids eat free lazy river front desk outdoor pool hotel restaurant king suite dive in movie kids activities breakfast buffet bunk beds great resort pool towels gulf view hot tub movie night fort walton lobby area
Filter
Updating list...
669 - 674 of 684 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Nice hotel with a beautiful pool and nice ocean view rooms. Also has a whirlpool and indoor pool. As hotel is brand new everything is in great shape. The only con when comparing to the previous holiday inn resort at ft walton beach is.
1. no free dvds.
2. no complimentary beach chairs and umbrella. Have to pay 30 dollars a day.
3. no free coffee in the lobby.
4. The breakfast that comeswith the room doesn't include juice. A three dollar charge extra for oj.(unbelievable).

Other than that a great place.

thanks

Room tip: get the ocean view room
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0bertp558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrook, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

We would like to thank you for your review of our new Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach. All reviews are important to us and are used as coaching tools for our team. We appreciate your concerns and we will address them accordingly. We look forward to seeing you in the near future for another great stay.


Thank you,

Jennifer Crook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our family enjoyed a wonderful stay at this new resort the past week!
Check-In
Check in was quick and easy. We arrived very early in the day and they had a room ready for us by noon! We were able to use their pool upon arrival. Jennifer Crook was one of the first friendly faces we met during our stay and she was wonderful!
Pool
Great zero entry pool with beautiful waterfalls and lazy river! Our girls loved spending time here. Daily entertainment by the pool included face painting, swimming with mermaids, pirate shows, and a magician. Towel service was provided and always well attended to! A tiki bar was open outdoors on Sunday when there was a larger crowd and servers regularly came around to gather food and drink orders from the Riptides bar and grill.
Food
We were so happy with the food and drinks from Riptides. Most servers were friendly (Katie was awesome) and food arrived as ordered. The best part was the KiDS EAT FREE! My daughter who is a very picky eater was thrilled with their chicken tender platter for lunch each day! We also ordered the kids burger and kids hot dog and the kids enjoyed it all! We ate breakfast at the restaurant each morning and were happy with the food. We also enjoyed the nachos and chicken sandwich! Would recommend both!
Beach access
Access to the beach was great with chair service offered by Lazy Days rental. They allowed us to pay hourly for the chairs we used which was a bargain! The resort is just a few minute walk to Okaloosa Island pier which was always a fun place to go for an afternoon stroll. By the pier there are several good restaurants including Floyd's, The Crab Trap, and Anglers. We've tried them all and enjoyed each one!
Entertainment
We've been to the Destin area several times and always enjoy crossing over the bridge. We regularly visit Harborwalk village to grab dinner at AJ's (my dad loves the yellowfin tuna) and we enjoy the atmosphere! It's always fun to visit Destin commons, Baytown Wharf, and other restaurants that way including Another Broken Egg Cafe, The Back Porch, and The Donut Hole!
Cleanliness
We expected the resort to be clean as it is brand new but we were also pleased with the housekeeping each day.
Overall Experience
We loved this hotel and our experience here. We've always stayed at a nearby condo and while that was nice too we were happy with everything this resort had to offer! We will definitely be back! For us, even though they had just opened, they seemed to have it all together!

Date of stay: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sollyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrook, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

We are so proud to be your New favorite place on Ft. Walton! Your review is very appreciated and we can't thank you enough for the in-depth review of our property. I am so pleased you were able to experience so much while here on vacation. Our team works hard to make sure every guest feels welcomed and are having a splendid time. I will pass along your kind words to everyone that made your stay great. Thank you and we look forward to your return in the near future.

See you soon,

Jennifer Crook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was fine, rooms were a little smaller than the other Holiday Inn Resorts we have stayed at, but they were ok. The hotel is brand new so there are issues they are still working through. Im sure it will be top notch when they get some experience under their belt.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiece0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrook, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for your review. We value our guest feedback and use it as a coaching tool. We look forward to your return and earning that Top Notch rating.


Thank you,

Jennifer Crook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We (my wife and 5 year old daughter) stayed at this hotel from May 22-25, 2014. We come to the area several times a year and were excited that Fort Walton was getting a new resort, as quality lodging has been hard to come by in recent years. First impression: beautiful lobby and pool; amazing view of one of the world's most beautiful beaches; mediocre service. As vbtlc stated previously, the front desk personnel are pleasant but not overly friendly. We arrived late afternoon, and there were 4 or 5 people working the front desk. It was obvious that several of them were new, which is understandable given the property had only been open a week. They were not forthcoming with necessary information (breakfast/restaurant info, WIFI password, etc) but were efficient overall with the check-in process. I will say that the assistant GM (Jennifer Crook) was friendly and helpful. We walked by other personnel (including those in and around the lobby area) several times without so much as a glance in our direction, much less a friendly hello.

The room was nice but cheaply constructed, which is not really unusual for a 3 star beach hotel. We had a gulf-facing room right over the pool, and the views quickly made up for any shortcomings the staff may have had. One note: there were loud gurgling noises coming from the wall (sounded like running water or water draining). I reported it to the front desk and they said they'd look into it. I never heard anything back, and it's apparently the norm due to the thin walls, as it continued for the rest of our stay. One major issue (to us) was the fact that there are no drapes to close to cover the windows, so we were awake at 6 every morning. This may not be an issue for some, but we like to sleep in while on vacation and our daughter was reenacting lines from the movie "Frozen" - "The sun's awake so I'm awake!"

We did not eat breakfast in the restaurant; $10.95 is a bit pricey in my opinion, but I will say the food looked delicious from what I saw. There should, however, be free coffee. The coffee in the room wasn't great, not to mention the fact that the pot was dirty when we arrived, and the coffee that we did consume was never replenished. As far as other meals go, we did have a club sandwich by the pool, and it was delicious.

Speaking of the pool, it's awesome. Plenty of seating, lazy river, waterfall, outdoor restrooms, music, food/beverage service, and, to the delight of our daughter, MERMAIDS! I'm not sure if that's a permanent thing, but it was pretty neat.

As mentioned previously, this hotel could be great. We've stayed at a Holiday Inn Express in Pensacola Beach on several occasions, and the management at this hotel should spend a few days observing their staff and their amenities. They go overboard welcoming guests, have free gourmet coffee (and hot breakfast, for that matter), and they even have freshly baked chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. I have no idea why there is such a disparity in service/amenities between the two brands that have the same parent company.

In summary, we would stay here again. To us beach bums, the location and the pool make up for a multitude of sins. Sorry to be lengthy, but I wanted to accurately portray our experience.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KRB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrook, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

“Beautiful views; beautiful pool; average service.”

Thank you for your very honest review. We appreciate you taking your time to share your experience and help plant seeds of growth and opportunity. We take our guest reviews seriously and professionally, we will use these listed concerns to coach and grow our Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach team. The goal is for every guest to have the most relaxing and welcoming stay possible. We look forward to you joining us again in the near future and experiencing the best we have to offer.


Thank you,

Jennifer Crook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Awesome resort!! Everything is new. We got the kids suite with bunk beds and an Xbox. The kids loved it! The beds are very comfortable and the pillows amazing. Food is wonderful with lots of selection. Kids eat free and an activity room with arcade and crafts. The decor is absolutely beautiful with soothing colors and fresh flowers. We will be back. Thoroughly enjoyed our vacation here.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank elsmith43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferCrook, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Great Resort for the Family! We are so thrilled you enjoyed your time with us. The Kids Suite is such a beautiful surprise to parents and kids alike. Our Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach team loves seeing smiles on both the children and the adults. We look forward to you returning for more of a great time in the near future.

Thank you,

Jennifer Crook
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews