We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little piece of heaven on earth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Walton Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach
Save
You added The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven on earth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

For many years I've stayed at The Breakers of Fort Walton Beach on Okaloosa Island, both business and vacation. My most recent trip was a vacation, Nov 23-30, 2013 (Thanksgiving). Every condo has a balcony or patio directly facing the Gulf of Mexico. What a joy it is to eat breakfast or dinner on the balcony, watching pelicans and seagulls! This trip I saw dolphins several times,too, which was a real treat.

The condos are all completely furnished with full kitchens as well as washer/dryer in each unit. They're individually-owned, so each unit has unique furnishings. This trip I stayed in W304, a unit in which I've stayed a couple of times before. It's lovely ... the owners clearly take pride in their condo, doing frequent updates and periodic re-decorations.

The location is great ... Okaloosa Island is close to the more touristy areas of Destin and Sandestin, without being in the middle of all of the traffic. It's quiet with several restaurants nearby. There are plenty of places to walk, relax with a book, gather shells on the beach, and just escape from the cares of everyday life.

The Breakers of FWB is where I go to rejuvenate -- it's my little piece of heaven on earth!

Room Tip: For better views, recommend requesting a condo on the 3rd floor or above. There are 6 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgirl33809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    63
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
143
63
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I drove to FWB from Goldsboro, NC for a wedding and stayed at The Breakers. We had the two bedroom deluxe. Since I had researched it online before going, I kinda knew what to expect. Well, I got a lot more than expected. Place is so well kept, everything you need for a great vacation. Large patio facing the ocean with the beautiful white sand. Master bedroom was huge and the most comfy king bed. Plenty of closet space, all the extra's you may need. Our only disappointment was the second bedroom had a teeny tiny tv and it was actually in the closet. That was really dumb. Also, the bathtub was very, very slippery, nothing on the tub floor so had to be very careful not to slip. But I give this a 5+ and would stay again (I'd just bring a bathtub mat). The staff is always so friendly, cheerful, and very helpful. Very clean. So glad we stayed here.

Room Tip: We were in the main entrance building, sixth floor. Was totally awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I went here on the recommendation of our neighbors who go there several times a year. We had never stayed in a condo type of hotel before, so we weren't sure what to expect. OMG. it was WONDERFUL. Every room has a private balcony facing the ocean. There is a walkway from the hotel to the beach. The hotel pool is nice and there are barbecue grills and tables for people who may be staying longer and want to cook their own dinner. The room was lovely with huge sliding doors so you had a picture perfect view of the ocean from inside. The kitchen is fully equipped including a washer/dryer. We can't wait to go back for a longer stay. I think this will be our new annual getaway place (perhaps more than annual). It is right at the border of Ft Walton/Destin. Lots of fantasic eateries including The Donut Hole... Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Since the rooms are privately owned, there are considerable smoking rooms, so be sure and request no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

That is the best way to describe the Breakers.We have been going back every year for the last 9 years.And we will keep going back.We started staying 1 week then 10 days now 2 weeks.The staff is SUPER nice.Paying rack rate the 2 chairs and umbrellas are included in room charge.Having those 2 chairs and umbrella waiting everyday for you on the beach is the best!Craig, the chair set up guy is always helpful!What great service he gives you!!The extra amenities are a nice and included also.The rooms are set up perfectly.We like the Island because it is so peaceful!It is very convenient to other towns for more shopping and restaurants.Although the restaurants on the island are excellent.The only problem we have to rent is a 2 bedroom 2 bath deluxe.The 1 bedroom condo bedroom is in the front.So that our bedroom will be facing the beach we have to get the extra rooms.But it is worth every penny to pay the extra cost for the extra room and view!!!We will see them again next September!!

Room Tip: Try to make sure your room is above the 3rd floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryKayMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a very nice stay for my friends' wedding. The wedding was setup by the condos and was very nice. The water was awesome. The amenities package include was a nice bonus. I did the sunset power boat cruise and our was very nice. The Breakers are centrally located and you can't beat the view!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpt_Jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

A restful and beautiful condo resort with an excellent staff. Grounds are kept very well as far as landscaping. This part of the beach is not as jam packed as others. Evenings are quiet and everyone has been most respectful of rules and quiet times. The only reason I did not give the full five stars is the condo I was assigned when I arrived. I was unable to select condo of choice ahead of time. I can only guess that is so management can divide rental income between the nice clean condos and the one I had. Don't get me wrong, the condo was very nice and well decorated but the floors needed a good steam cleaning. So thumbs up on The Breakers! :)

Room Tip: Request third floor or higher for best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drago_1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Tn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just recently stayed 5 nights at The Breakers in Fort Walton Beach the first week in october and stayed in unit C-310. and we were thrilled. We have been blessed to be able to travel a lot but have never stayed in a condo and we were at first skeptical until we saw The Breakers and this room which was totally beautiful.
The furnishings are first class and we slept with our patio doors open at night to hear the waves. It is right on the beach and the view is awesome . Close proximity to fort walton restaurants and Destin restaurants are a hop skip and a jump away. 5 stars from us. Staff is friendly and helpful
Love this place
Sharon and Steve coley
Tennessee

Room Tip: Unit c-310
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonwalrond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#4 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#12 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#10 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach

Property: The Breakers at Fort Walton Beach
Address: 381 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-3144
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our units have a view of the Gulf of Mexico. We have 1,2 and 3 bedroom units. Stay like a hotel with all the accommodations of home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Breakers Fort Walton Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing