We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners giving a much-needed facelift”
Review of Giovanni's One89

Giovanni's One89
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: At Giovanni's One89 our menus are based on simple, fresh and handmade food served with elegant style in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We present an extensive menu of appetizers, steaks, fresh seafood, homemade pasta dishes, pizzas, salads and desserts. Nothing infused or fussy, just the classics done right.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you haven't been here lately, give it another try. New owners took over in the spring, and it looks really nice inside. The food is just what you would expect - classic Italian. We did not get pizza, but we had dinner with some locals who tell me the pizza is great. I had Bolognese, which is my very favorite Italian dish. The dish was good, but it wasn't really Bolognese. No real red sauce - just Italian sausage, sundried tomatoes, pasta. Not bad, not great. But I'd go again. Everyone else said their dishes were very good, and I'd like to see the new owners make a go of this lovely little spot.

1  Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffeitaliaone89, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's One89, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and your good wishes. Hope you come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 181 of 181 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

On vacation me an my husband found this lovely restaurant. It sits on the water which has a great view. Inside is beautifully decorated the outside has a lovely view an is quite romantic. The table setting was beautiful. Love the blue water decanters. We were waited on promptly with a smile. Then came our fresh bread with a garlic seasoning with a sprinkle of fresh parmesan cheese, delightful. I ordered the escargot as my appetitizer, I can never get that at home, no one in Texas seems to know how to make it. Well it was magnificent! The first nite I had pizza. Amazing! Second nite had filet mignon once again amazing! Melt in ur mouth amazing! Yes we came back just that great! Finished off with the house merlot the italian red wine an desert. By far the best FRESH cooked meal not pre made I have had dining out in a long while. Perfect ending to a perfect vacation. Love Fort Walton and the people can't wait to come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sheilakim44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffeitaliaone89, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's One89, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we hope you come back many times!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went here for a date night and were definitely not disappointed. Incredible atmosphere on the water and the perfect weather let us eat outside. Italian is phenomenal and they have a great wine list. Highly recommend for a date night out in Fort Walton Beach! Outstanding experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffeitaliaone89, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's One89, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for your review and we hope you come back for many more date nights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Having heard that Caffe Italia had changed hands and had been renovated, we were expecting good things. As it's Memorial Day weekend we booked a table for 7:30. Arrived slightly ahead of time and saw the place wasn't too busy. Waited at the door for a full 5 minutes. Looked at the reservations book and they only had two bookings (one being us). One waitress saw us, didn't acknowledge us and went to serve at a table. Another walked towards us but completely ignored us. A third walked towards us, said 'I'll be with you in a moment' and walked past. Called her back and asked if she would just cancel the reservation. They all seemed shocked that we didn't like being ignored. I pointed out that we weren't tourists, but locals who used the local restaurants all year.
It's a pity as the location is good, and the place has potential.
Being in the hospitality industry myself, I'm aware that a satisfied customer will tell 30 people, but an unhappy customer will tell 300.
I really wanted to like this place, but we weren't given a chance. Fell at the first fence.

2  Thank Martino52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caffeitaliaone89, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's One89, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

So sorry you had such an unpleasant experience. We hope you come back again and have a chance to sample our food and enjoy the ambience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Angim1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovannisone89, Public Relations Manager at Giovanni's One89, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's One89 also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Giovanni's One89? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing