We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park

Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park
1010 Miracle Strip Pkwy, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
850 243 9046
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Delight in watching dolphins leap and sea lions play during our spectacular shows! Or participate and interact directly with these and other remarkable marine animals including stingrays, sharks, and otters in our new interactive programming (additional fee applies). Enjoy educational exhibits and beautiful ocean views. Open daily at 9am.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were looking for something to do besides going to the beach everyday and decided to go to the Gulfarium. I am so glad we did, we had a great time. The dolphin and sea lion shows were awesome. My 3 year old loved them. It only took a couple of hours to see everything. Prices are affordable and the staff is very nice.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    250
    146
    54
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We couldn't decide if it would be worth the time and money to go to the gulfarium....but SO GLAD WE DID! I have a 2 yr old and he loved it! The dolphin and seal shows were so good! And then we enjoyed walking around on our own exploring and seeing the other animals. It is worth your time and money. Take your camera!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripTrioGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We liked the different animals for view at the gulfarium. We really enjoyed watching the dolphin show and the sea lion show. After that, the girls started getting bored and ready to leave. I wouldn't recommend staying more than a couple of hours at the most, otherwise you may have some cranky kids on your hands.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank angmof04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Aquarium!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Small but great! Good shows and exhibits! There was a dolphin and sea lion show. The view into the dolphin tank at entrance is awesome!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MoniG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“If you thought Dophins were smart, wait till you see the Sea Lions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is an intimate experience for a morning or afternoon that you are bound to enjoy, whether you're 60 or 6. So get it out of your heads right now: this is not an all encompassing aquarium venue like the National Aquarium in Baltimore or a slick corporate show, a la Sea World. Rather, it's a smallish but very busy marine park filled with marine mammals as well as fish, birds, etc. The habitats are built to invite close up looks, and the shows are styled so you can watch from different vantage points. Most of the park is shaded to some extent to alleviate sun stroke or downpours.

One of the nice things about Gulfarium is that it was originally built in the 50s. So it retains a little bit of that Florida "kitsch" that has long died out, especially in more urban areas. Some people in other posts were put off by this, possibly because they prefer their venues more cookie cutter and uniform, i.e "chain like", such as: Wal-Mart, Bed Bath and Beyond, Olive Garden, Staples, etc. We, however, thought that this was part of it's charm.

But the best part are the trainers and interns. There are loads of them. They make themselves accessible and love to talk about the different creatures. By the way, they all have names and the trainers will happily tell you about each one and their individual personalities. Really! They also have individual "encounter" sessions which were reasonably priced and which appeared to be a big hit among the people who took advantage. But the interaction between the staff and the kids, as well as the adults, seemed to be the highlight.

The location is on the beach, there is a fishing pier close by, as well as bars and restaurants. If the kids are taking too long, you can always get a drink. But you won't want to. I loved it, my wife loved it, and so did my daughter, Christa.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MhaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park also viewed

Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
Fort Walton Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Gulfarium Marine Adventure Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing