We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roya Hotel & Suites
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach
1 review
“Deceiving”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

remodeling needs to take place. garbage should not be left out by the entrance side door.
tub needed to be clean on the outside of tub. doors need to be updated unpleasant older in the hotel and bedrooms. Towels needed to be updated they were very worn, used. the pictures online of the hotel are very deceiving.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    32
    22
    18
    33
See reviews for
50
28
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grenada, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Was one of the worst hotel stays ever!!! And I stay in hotels 40 weeks out of a year. First off it id nasty and way to pricey for out of date rooms.. Had major sewage problems. I was afraid to walk on carpet it looked like a mass killing had taken place in the room. It flooded one night and the next morning I went to the parking lot to find my car under water and flooding fresh turds, used condoms, used tampons and toilet paper all over the parking lot Told the manger about it and was informed it was not has problem it was the cities. I then informed him it was his problem he could at least have someone out there with a broom are shovel to clean up the mess I had to wade thru the mess ever time I went out to my car. The manger was so rude. He had a personanilty of a paper cup. The only reason I had to stay there for week was because no one else had any rooms left..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWaltonQuality, General Manager at Roya Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
I can only apologize for the situation based on the renovations and unexpected terential rain storm the hotel experienced during your stay. As a waterfront property and subject to the prevailing weather, the exorbitant amount of water overloaded the city sewage system much to our dismay. As expressed by the City, "nothing they could do to remedy the overflow". The hotel did hose off and clean the parking area and drive thru immediately during and thru the next day due to the continued rainwater accumulation from the storm. This property was a newly purchased franchise and is supplying over $1 million renovate the property to a long overdue presence in the Fort Walton Beach community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Walton Beach hotels

Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Warning ...........Hotel Under Renovation

****Do not go to this location if you expect to be able to get any sleep

People renovating this hotel were allowed by Management and Owners to start work at 6:45AM on Saturday and Sunday. Banging Loudly, Playing Boombox music, laying tiles, dropping bags of mortar.

Refrigerator in my room not working.
No forks to eat Complimentary Breakfast!!

Total Lack of Respect and Consideration for the Customer.

These People even asked if we wanted to upgrade for a Valentines Day Special $10 for champagne??? Is this a Romantic Place to Stay... I Do Not think So!!

Called Customer Service and all they do is take down your comments. No Quality Guarantees at Quality Inn!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAGAtotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWaltonQuality, General Manager at Roya Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Renovation work has been completed in the main building with completion of our second building within the next couple of weeks. I apologize to all guests who have experienced the hotel over this period. Please note as a newly purchased franchise the owners are putting over $1 million into this property. Our waterfront with boat doc access has just received a ton of white sand thus creating our own beach front. Restaurant and Bar overlooking the waterfront is in the early stages of realization. Thank you for your comments and I look forward to sharing the "new"
hotel with all coming into the emerald coast community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Bayside has a pretty nice location, and the rooms are big. It also has a huge 70's vibe - so if you dig large crt tube TVs and pastel corridors, this place is for you. The rooms are a little run down - not a lot, but what you would expect from an older property - and are very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank virgiematt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWaltonQuality, General Manager at Roya Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks you for your comments. The hotel is under a complete renovation addressing the issues reflected in your review. With new ownership, the renovation will increase our guest experience and overall satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

The wing of rooms on the West side, along the Bay, is completely closed. They are doing a complete remodel of the hotel facilities, building by building.

I booked a bay view room on their website, but none are actually available until the work is complete So forget about a bay view until then.

I found the staff helpful, but the facilities worn. But a good location for FWB area, close to everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob7880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortWaltonQuality, General Manager at Roya Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments as your business means a lot. As new owners of the hotel, a total renovation is currently taking place. The results from the renovation will address the issues addressed in your review. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Alabama
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed here about 5 years ago with my family and it was much nicer, it was older then too but just seemed cleaner and friendlier. I was there this time with family and granted it was the "Off Season" but that's no excuse.This property has gone down hill A LOT. The room was ok but the carpet was very dirty and smelled of mold and cigar smoke. The bathroom was very small and the toilet wouldn't seem to flush right. The shower was dirty and you could tell it was part of a much older building. I seemed to have run out of hot water during my shower and none of the outside doors locked behind you. The television was a small 32 inch tube style TV.(Come on... this is 2013 get a flat screen) I only stayed one night then checked out and moved to another hotel that was cleaner. The breakfast was ok but was told several of the people had quit and one of the construction guys was fixing the breakfast area food. It was a little weird. I doubt I'll be going back unless they do some serious renovating.

Room Tip: Get a newly renovated room or stay somewhere else cleaner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrybears174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have stayed at this loacation on a regular basis since 2007. It is in an excellent location for travel in the NW Florida area. The rooms are rather larger than avarage, with many nice ammenities, such as micro and fridge.

The downside it that this is an older property, and it does need some renovation; the plus side is that this property was just purchased, and the new owners plan a major renovation.

Everything is clean and well maintained, but it facilities do show signs of wear. It is not new, but it is nice.

It is right on the bay, and while not on the Gulf, you are on the water with nice views from the bayview rooms.

If your travel takes you to the Ft Walton Beach -Destin area, take a look at this location. It has a lot going for it with location and the views.

Room Tip: The second floor of the the bayside wing is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#14 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#13 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marina Bay Resort
Marina Bay Resort
#10 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roya Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roya Hotel & Suites

Property: Roya Hotel & Suites
Address: 322 Miracle Strip Pkwy SW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-5203
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roya Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roya Hotel & Suites is located directly on the Santa Rosa Sound in Ft. Walton Beach. We are proud to offer spacious rooms that overlook the bay and you can enjoy the many beautiful sunsets on the Emerald Coast. Our private beach area is perfect for weddings and families with small children. We also offer a private dock that has 6 boat slips for your convenience. The hotel is just minutes away from the sugar white beaches on Okaloosa Island and Destin and with in a 2 miles radius of fast food and fine dining restaurants to include Waffle House, Red Lobster and the Board Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roya Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bayside Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Quality Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing