We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time but not so clean!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Echos Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Echos Condominiums to your Saves list
Island Echos Condominiums
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   676 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great time but not so clean!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were there at Island Echos this Summer and the location was very nice. The condo faces the ocean, which is a beautiful view all day and night. The beach has this sugar sand that my kids enjoyed a looooooot. The pool was really nice and everything was really peaceful, a family environment. Our condo was ok, not so very clean, floors seams like not seeing a mop for ages, the kitchen though was great; the bathroom could be more clean, specially the toilet ; the sheets had stain all over, since I have kids, luckily I brought my own sheets, pillows and comforts; the owners seams to be nice and caring people, but they may not be aware that the cleaning crow is terrible. I cleaned the place before using it, so we had an awesome stay, but was really disappointed getting to work during your vacations since the cleaning fee was payed already. Taking this part out, I would definitely return there, next time in a more clean unit.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Alcoa, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed in many locations through RCI, but this was above par. The complete opposite I was envisioning after reading other negative reviews. Only paid the exchange fee for the entire week: $179.00 total!

We stayed in a nice one-bedroom condo. First appearance was that is was very clean. Full kitchen, living and dinning room, balcony and bathroom. Plenty of initial stock to get you going. Two Vizio tvs- one in the bedroom. One roll of TP, paper towels and soap. Plenty of towels and wash clothes. We brought our own pillows, so sleeping at night has not been a problem. All rooms face the ocean; which was the only downside of the entire trip. Seems the "Emerald Coast/Island" should be renamed the black tea sea. It was dark the entire week, even on the sunniest of days. Seems a lot of seaweed is still present. The little chunks of slime type of pieces. Not worth getting into the ocean, but the pool is ok. Still evidence of the Louisiana oil spill too. The waves caused a lot of foam, that looked like the colors of the rainbow- a clear indication it contained oil. Yuck!!

There is a guy assigned to setup and take down umbrellas and chairs each day. He is a hard working guy and is worth every penny he is paid. Ran into the maint folks too. Both very friendly!

Over all a very relaxing week. Glad we stayed where we did as there is very little traffic on this end of the island. Lots of free parking.

The only down side is every once in a while we could smell cig smoke coming from another guest room. Not sure if they were below or next to us. Oh well, cannot have it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theyoung1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This unit is owned by TBBGL Properties out of PA. The cleaning/maintenance service is through Destin "Luxury" Rentals. TBBGL needs to fire their cleaning service. We arrived after check in and the place was filthy. We called every # given to us and we were given the run around. No one would or could tell us the name of the cleaning service. 7 calls and two hrs later, cleaning service finally showed up. When they left it still wasn't clean. The balcony table and chairs were cheap and broken. There was a horrible smell we could not pinpoint the entire trip. No hangers. No ironing board. I asked about the amenities several times & given vague answers. Sink backed up everytime you washed your hands. Very little water pressure. Food left in fridge from previous guests. Rips in couch. Stains on couch and floor. If you still have vhs tapes, you're in luck. They have a vcr! Kitchen stools and microwave dirty. There is a window that opens to balcony in the master bedroom but the screen has huge holes in it. Pro's...beautiful view. Not a horrible roach infested place, but would not return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ccornwell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Away from the crowds across the bridge in Destin and it's location on a dead-end street were the best things about Island Echos. I'm a complete hotel snob, so the idea of staying in a condo for the long weekend did not excite me, but it was what we could find last minute trip plans changed.

I was in room 2L, with 2 bedrooms, which was just above the pool. Yes, it was as noisy as it sounds. I would have liked to be higher up. The room was old, water stained and cracking stucco, the furniture had enough stains for me to place the clean and bagged sheets over them. Old tube TVs, and old electronics. The free DVD rentals per day was a nice gesture, but don't expect a good selection at all. The place needs some updating; I guess the owner of our unit hasn't put any money into it for over a decade. The place wasn't nasty, but I wasn't comfortable enough to sit on anything without a sheet or towel over it. Bring flip flops or slippers, the floors are tiled and the carpet was shaggy and dingy as hell in the master bedroom.

We had plenty of towels and linens. The kitchen was fully stocked. No complaints there.

The beach was this place's best asset. Right on the shore with included beach chair and umbrella service got me to stay once we checked in. Service ends promptly at 6PM, so be prepared to be ousted of your chair if you want to stay longer on the beach. The sand is powdery white and the water was beautiful.

Parking was not an issue. Overall, this place was comfortable, but the price really didn't match what we could have gotten for the same price at a hotel on the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors; the pool and beach can get very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelSnobNumeroUno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama
Level Contributor
149 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stated in unit 2P. Clean 1bedroom 1 bath unit on west end of second floor. Was nice and convenient to parking. Right by stairwell and trash Shute so a little noisy at times but we enjoyed our stay. Reserved through Wyndham website (Resort Quest). Unit had all linens and one set of paper towels, toilet paper, and dish detergent for machine. Recommend you bring extras for longer stays. Full kitchen with everything we needed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisjoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Loved the place, quiet and comfy. The beds need upgraded, but the view and beach were perfect. Bring your own beach chairs and dont forget your slippers. The floors are tile. I loved this resort because of the view and the time with my bride.

Room Tip: Bring your slippers
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tayfromtenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Villa 1 G was a tastefully decorated 2BR condo on the bottom floor. The smell of fresh paint and sandy beaches was very welcome to this weary wayfarer . However, the room was advertised as having a beach view. I do not consider a window 80% covered by sandune a beach view. The most egregious item was the lack of phone and internet. We called the 1-800-TALK- TO- INDIA Wyndam number, but did not get any results. The lady of the line said "well the owner probably did not pay their bill." Tacky..yes!? As a well traveled soul, I'm am not used to lack of staff being on duty, calling for major problems and etc. Although the place was beautiful, I would not recommend...especially for 250.00 an night!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nellashara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#10 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#6 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach...
#9 of 31 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterscape Condominiums
Waterscape Condominiums
#4 of 18 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Echos Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Echos Condominiums

Address: 676 Santa Rosa Blvd, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Echos Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This all-time favorite family resort will dazzle you with its 1-, 2- and 3-bedroom deluxe units. Offering special property amenities such as an excellent gulf beach access, seasonally heated gulf-side swimming pool with over-sized sundeck, lighted tennis court and kayak rentals, you'll know why this 7-story gulf-front condominium is an extremely popular family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Island Echos Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resortquest Rentals At Island Echos Condominiums Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Island Echos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#